Section 3.8 says specifically: "or by ‘castling’. This is a move of the king and either rook of the same colour along the player’s first rank, counting as a single move"
"In castling, the player moves his King two squares to its left or right towards one of his Rooks."
So, no vertical castling. However, this might already be interpretation of the rules, not the rule itself. It would be interesting to see the actual "US Chess Rulebook" by the USCF, whether the FIDE amendement of 1972 is included or not. Unfortunately, that book is behind a paywall.