I will test the game in these days and after I will tell you my impressions. Now for me is better the bed...
Thank you very much again!
Grazie moltissime sei un genio!!
Pippo
Moderator: Ras
How does that work then? I'm only in check if you would be able to capture my king if it were your turn. Because I haven't moved yet, you don't yet know how the joker will move on your next turn, therefore you don't yet know whether you would be able to capture my king.Pippo wrote: no, Evert! joker cannot SUFFERS a check (when it imitates the king) because it isn't the king. It can normally give check to the opponent king. Imitation value of jokers always is known!
Hello Evert,Evert wrote:How does that work then? I'm only in check if you would be able to capture my king if it were your turn. Because I haven't moved yet, you don't yet know how the joker will move on your next turn, therefore you don't yet know whether you would be able to capture my king.Pippo wrote: no, Evert! joker cannot SUFFERS a check (when it imitates the king) because it isn't the king. It can normally give check to the opponent king. Imitation value of jokers always is known!
You can say that the move of the joker persists to the beginning of your next turn rather than the beginning of mine, but that is an extra rule that needs to be defined explicitly. Personally I think it would be a mistake...
There is another subtle consequence of the checking rules, which is castling. In the current Fairy-Max implementation (which follows Evert's interpretation) a black Joker that just moved Je5-g3 (imitating B or Q) would not suspend white's right to castle, because after Ke1-b1 the Joker will imitate a King, and can thus not move to e1. The same would hold for a Joker that would be 'looking at' b1 after Jb5-d3: you can safely castle to b1. In this interpretation Jg3 merely pins all white B, Q and J, but does not deliver check.Evert wrote:How does that work then? I'm only in check if you would be able to capture my king if it were your turn. Because I haven't moved yet, you don't yet know how the joker will move on your next turn, therefore you don't yet know whether you would be able to capture my king.
Ok this is clear. A joker move does not give check by itself. But it inhibits enemy moves that would put the enemy king in check due to the imitation behaviour.Now: you cannot move a piece that assigns to my joker an imitation value able to put in check your king!
It works, but you need to explicitly define it this way - and as I said, I think it's a mistake because it leads to very strange and counter-intuitive situations. In short, I think it makes the rules not be self-consistent.Pippo wrote: until you don't move, my joker persists in the last imitation value. This is ok, it isn't?
You cannot put yourself in check, that's obvious. But that isn't the situation I'm referring to.Ex: my joker, imitating a bishop, is in front your king (for example: my joker is in b3, your king in b8 with no pieces between). It is your tourn: you cannot move the queen, neither a rook! This is what I call "inhibition"; it is very importan: if I attack your queen at next movement (with immutate situation joker-king) you lost your queen because she does not escape.
Is it clair now?
Ok Harm, your doubts indicate that you are in the right way...hgm wrote:There is another subtle consequence of the checking rules, which is castling. In the current Fairy-Max implementation (which follows Evert's interpretation) a black Joker that just moved Je5-g3 (imitating B or Q) would not suspend white's right to castle, because after Ke1-b1 the Joker will imitate a King, and can thus not move to e1. The same would hold for a Joker that would be 'looking at' b1 after Jb5-d3: you can safely castle to b1. In this interpretation Jg3 merely pins all white B, Q and J, but does not deliver check.Evert wrote:How does that work then? I'm only in check if you would be able to capture my king if it were your turn. Because I haven't moved yet, you don't yet know how the joker will move on your next turn, therefore you don't yet know whether you would be able to capture my king.
The other interpretation would say Jg3 is attacking e1 and thus checking, and moves with P, N, R or K merely resolve the check. In this interpretation the castling should be forbidden.
Similar, but even more controversial situations can occur when the Joker would (after a B imitation) be on f3 or e3, looking at d1 or c1, respectively. Would castling then be 'passing through check', and thus forbidden? Note that white has already started moving his King by the time it reaches d1 or c1. So would the imitation value of the Joker change when I pick up my piece, or when I put it down?
If the imitation value would change only on releasing the piece, the most ambiguous of all would be when Jc3 looks at b1. After releasing the King it could be safely on b1, but in order to get to the release point, should it be considered passing through check on b1, like it would have when the Joker had been looking at d1 or c1?
Note that the 'change on release' rule would also affect regular pins. Suppose white's King is on e1, a Joker imitating a Bishop on g3, and I have a white Pawn on f2. Can I now move f2-f4? If the Joker is a Bishop until after I pick up the Pawn, it would have free view on my King, so I would be 'passing through check' during this move. Although after the move I am of course safe, as the Joker now imitates a Pawn.