Advice on how to use Arena GUI for engine-engine matches

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

EN

Advice on how to use Arena GUI for engine-engine matches

Post by EN »

Just as the topic says.

Hello everyone, I'm new to using Arena GUI and considering on using it for the long haul, but I need to understand some operational basics. I installed Arena 3.5.1 and Sedat Canbaz's Perfect2017.abk book and followed book settings etc. Ditto for Arena's engine-settings window for engines, and have fiddled with Arena GUI menu in order to understand its functions and create engine-engine matches, but it seems I'm doing something incorrectly.

For example, when attempting a 5/0 match between, say, Rybka 3 versus Naum 4.6 (or ANY engines for that matter), I go the "Game" menu and select "Demo"; the engines move are extremely slow during the opening phase - even with the Perfect2017.abk book supplied. The "Sliding Pieces" sub-menu under the "Pieces" menu has been selected to "very fast" for both "Speed" and "During a match" options, with "Steps" still at 30. I think, with opening book supplied, engines should move faster till when out of the recommended book settings for Perect2017.abk:

BookOptions1: under "Data" menu - Use Arena main book, Use Arena engine books, Use transpositions - all checked, AND
BookOptions2: under "Move Selection" - Minimal number of games=0, Minimal won games=0, Win percentage white=0, Win percentage black=0, with Priority=2, Number of games=2, Win percentages=0. Moves with priority 0 are never played (checked), and Use book up to halfmove=26.

I should note that the same Perfecto2017.bin for Polyglot - used under Winboard GUI - has a Book Depth of 9. Not sure why Arena's .abk has 26 halfmoves (or 13, if divided in half?). Again, I want to learn about Arena - as I'm a newbie to it.

I know my description settings for matches between engines is vague.