Lazy SMP

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

JuLieN
Full name: Julien Marcel

Lazy SMP

Post by JuLieN »

Has someone tried to split the move generator and the evaluation function, instead of splitting the search tree?

If, say, you have height threads and 16 chessmen for your side on the board, you'd give two pieces to find the legal moves of to each of those threads. The only blocking part of the code would be the function pushing the found legal move into the moves list, and, maybe, the in-check checking routine when it needs to move a piece on the board.

Likewise, you could compute all the terms of your evaluation function in parallel threads. If you have more terms than you have threads then once a term is finished computing you'd affect the thread a new term to compute and so on.

Has this ever been tried? Being a very lazy programmer I was contemplating the easiest way to implement SMP in my engine, and came with this "lazy SMP" idea.
"The only good bug is a dead bug." (Don Dailey)
[Blog: http://tinyurl.com/predateur ] [Facebook: http://tinyurl.com/fbpredateur ] [MacEngines: http://tinyurl.com/macengines ]
jdart

Re: Lazy SMP

Post by jdart »

There is some overhead to create or assign a new thread so most chess programmers try to do that not too often during the search, which is why they are splitting the tree and doing it only when sufficient depth remains. Splitting in the movegen or eval would be too fine-grained to be efficient I think.

--Jon
zamar

Post by zamar »

JuLieN wrote:Has someone tried to split the move generator and the evaluation function, instead of splitting the search tree?