ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Edoardo Manino
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:43 pm
Location: Turin, Italy

ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Edoardo Manino » Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:51 am

Hi,
I'm a programmer from Italy, I've just released a new version of my ProChess.
You'll find it on http://www.g-sei.org/pro-chess/
It isn't strong, basic search, only piece table evaluation, no tablebases,
but it's very stable so may be useful for testing.
Enjoy it!

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 31057
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Graham Banks » Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:04 am

Edoardo Manino wrote:Hi,
I'm a programmer from Italy, I've just released a new version of my ProChess.
You'll find it on http://www.g-sei.org/pro-chess/
It isn't strong, basic search, only piece table evaluation, no tablebases,
but it's very stable so may be useful for testing.
Enjoy it!
Thanks. I'm going to include it in my Amateur Series Division 7 at this stage. :)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

gerold
Posts: 10102
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:57 pm
Location: van buren,missouri

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by gerold » Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:29 pm

Edoardo Manino wrote:Hi,
I'm a programmer from Italy, I've just released a new version of my ProChess.
You'll find it on http://www.g-sei.org/pro-chess/
It isn't strong, basic search, only piece table evaluation, no tablebases,
but it's very stable so may be useful for testing.
Enjoy it!
Nice engine. Thanks.

Best,
Gerold.

tttony
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by tttony » Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:42 am

wow you made that engine in Visual Basic 6?

Edoardo Manino
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:43 pm
Location: Turin, Italy

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Edoardo Manino » Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:00 am

tttony wrote:wow you made that engine in Visual Basic 6?
Yes, I do! I started programming ProChess two years ago.
At this time Visual Basic 6 was the only programming language I knew.
I'll rewrite it in C sooner or later...

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 31057
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Graham Banks » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:47 pm

Edoardo Manino wrote:Hi,
I'm a programmer from Italy, I've just released a new version of my ProChess.
You'll find it on http://www.g-sei.org/pro-chess/
It isn't strong, basic search, only piece table evaluation, no tablebases,
but it's very stable so may be useful for testing.
Enjoy it!
When I doubleclick on the exe, a console window doesn't pop up, but a file called spy.txt is created in the engine folder. However, Task manager shows that the ProChess application is running.

Has anybody successfully run this engine?
Should I be worried about a file called spy.txt?
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

ZirconiumX
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:14 am

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by ZirconiumX » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:07 pm

Graham, that does not bode well.

Especially from someone who just pops out of nowhere.

Where did he get the 2168 Elo CCRL 40/4 from? CCRL have never tested an engine called ProChess in 40/4.

Delete the executable, and run a very good anti virus on your computer.

JM2C.

Matthew:out
Some believe in the almighty dollar.

I believe in the almighty printf statement.

Edoardo Manino
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:43 pm
Location: Turin, Italy

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Edoardo Manino » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:14 pm

Hi Graham!
don't worry about "spy.txt", it's the log file :D
Visual Basic 6 executables has some issues running in console mode, I give up trying to solve this problem. Fritz, Arena and Winboard interfaces has no problems running ProChess

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 31057
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Graham Banks » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:15 pm

Edoardo Manino wrote:Hi Graham!
don't worry about "spy.txt", it's the log file :D
Visual Basic 6 executables has some issues running in console mode, I give up trying to solve this problem. Fritz, Arena and Winboard interfaces has no problems running ProChess
Okay. Thanks for explaining. :)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Edoardo Manino
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:43 pm
Location: Turin, Italy

Re: ProChess 101 C "prime" released

Post by Edoardo Manino » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:18 pm

Dear Matthew,
when someone join this forum he necessarily "pops out of nowhere", doesn't he? :D
The 2138 CCRL 40/4 is an old score. Now it's 1938, but I like more the old one ;-)

Post Reply