Access violation in Release version only

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

jarkkop
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:44 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Access violation in Release version only

Post by jarkkop »

Hi,

In Debug mode everything runs fine but after Release compile there is access violation almost right after search starts. Any suggestions how to tackle this problem. After breaking in Release code just assembly is shown and I can't figure out the place that caused the error.

Any help appreciated.

- Jarkko
mcostalba
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:17 pm

Re: Access violation in Release version only

Post by mcostalba »

jarkkop wrote:Hi,

In Debug mode everything runs fine but after Release compile there is access violation almost right after search starts. Any suggestions how to tackle this problem. After breaking in Release code just assembly is shown and I can't figure out the place that caused the error.

Any help appreciated.

- Jarkko
Don't strip symbol table in release mode, this could be a good start.
jarkkop
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:44 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Access violation in Release version only

Post by jarkkop »

Is that the default behaviour in MS VC 2008 express version when compiling release version?

Does anyone know the switch that has to be turned to keep the symbol tables?
mcostalba
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:17 pm

Re: Access violation in Release version only

Post by mcostalba »

jarkkop wrote:Is that the default behaviour in MS VC 2008 express version when compiling release version?

Does anyone know the switch that has to be turned to keep the symbol tables?
Please go to project->properites->(property page opens and I strongly suggest you to spend 5 minutes browsing it around)->linker->debug->build debug info should be set to true.