Banksia GUI released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, bob, hgm

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Jan 23, 2020 3:58 am

BrendanJNorman wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:30 pm
phhnguyen wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 1:46 pm

Thanks for the request.

The request is still in my TODO list, please wait :)
Hi Nguyen,

I think a huge request that I think a big majority of users will share (besides fixing the Windows 10 crash bug), would be the ability to expand the UCI options window (see image below).

Image

As you can see, for many engines, especially those with a lot of UCI options to tweak, tuning these options involves a tedious 'scrolling and pecking' process.

In the image you can see Rodent II, which has a couple of dozen UCI options, of which only about 5 are visible at once.

This makes it really difficult for tuning because it is hard to visually get a full picture of the overall settings as you're entering them.

In my Non-Programmer's view, the way to remedy this, would be either option 1, the ability to drag and expand the UCI options window (yellow arrow) or b, to create a button that can "pop-out" the UCI options window (green arrow and rectangle) into a fully visible window.

Again, I am not a programmer, so I have no idea which of these options would be easier to implement, but I do know that Arena has such things which makes tuning engines a breeze...unfortunately Arena is also plagued with more bugs than a Looney Tunes cartoon (get it? :lol: ).

What do you think?

Thanks a lot for the suggestion. I will make some improvements in the next release. Users will have more control to view.
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:02 am

Ovyron wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:49 am
BrendanJNorman wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:30 pm
In my Non-Programmer's view, the way to remedy this, would be either option 1, the ability to drag and expand the UCI options window (yellow arrow) or b, to create a button that can "pop-out" the UCI options window (green arrow and rectangle) into a fully visible window.
What about this? If you decrease the width of the Value Column and show several columns you can display up to 20 options per row!

Image
Very good suggestion! However, some users still use small screens (widths < 1000px), thus multi options in one line won't fit for them. Furthermore, some options' contents may need long lines to display, for example, files' paths.
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:03 am

Guenther wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:44 pm
phhnguyen wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:03 am
Guenther wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 11:52 am
Thanks for the new preview version!

I think the buttons below the moves window don't work correctly when loading pgn files.

Image

Code: Select all

|< = ok
<  =  >|
>  =  >|
>| = ok
>* = oscillating between start and end position? (intended?)
Thanks for the report!

However, I can't reproduce the problem even I have tried with many PGN files. If you can reproduce with a PGN file, please send it to me.

Note that those buttons are for scrolling moves:
|< = go first
< = go previous
> = go next
>| = go last
>* = auto scroll
(Ofc I know the meaning of those buttons - those are universal in all applications - not only in chess)

It seems it happens to all kind of pgn files I have. May be a weird Win7 problem (QT in this case)
and the button functions - also no comments are shown, but I don't know, if this is intentional?

I tried WB, Cute-Chess-Cli, CuteChess, CuteChess (modified by me) and CuteChess (modified and PGN beautifying with a macro by me) pgn files. The result is always the same, as described in my first post.

http://rwbc-chess.de/clip/banksia_pgn-replay.png
Image

Three kinds of PGN files with that problems:

http://rwbc-chess.de/clip/Test20181104.7z
http://rwbc-chess.de/clip/20190708.7z
http://rwbc-chess.de/clip/171214.7z
Thanks a lot. I can reproduce now. That bug will be fixed for the next release
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
Ovyron
Posts: 4402
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:30 am

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by Ovyron » Thu Jan 23, 2020 6:27 am

phhnguyen wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:02 am
However, some users still use small screens (widths < 1000px)
Yes, I had realized this after Brendan's reply. Sorry.

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5515
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:59 am

I suspect that some of the random crashes I have been recieving are caused by the output of the PV dock. When I disable the PV dock window allot of the crashes that I have been having on Windows 10 stops. I tested this on both my Desktop and Laptop.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:16 am

AdminX wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:59 am
I suspect that some of the random crashes I have been recieving are caused by the output of the PV dock. When I disable the PV dock window allot of the crashes that I have been having on Windows 10 stops. I tested this on both my Desktop and Laptop.
Thanks a lot! Your tip comes in so right time: I have been working on BSG's crashing, exiting problems.
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

BrendanJNorman
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Full name: Brendan J Norman

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by BrendanJNorman » Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:56 am

AdminX wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:47 pm
Hey Brendan,

Here is a new one. I call it 'Workbench'. :D

Click Image for Larger View

Image
Very nice! By the looks of the logos, you are using a HUGE monitor, right?

Maybe we should ask Nguyen if he can add scaling of logo sizes? :twisted:

Here's my latest theme:

Image

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5515
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by AdminX » Thu Jan 23, 2020 12:35 pm

BrendanJNorman wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:56 am

Hey Brendan,

Here is a new one. I call it 'Workbench'. :D

Click Image for Larger View

Very nice! By the looks of the logos, you are using a HUGE monitor, right?

Maybe we should ask Nguyen if he can add scaling of logo sizes? :twisted:

Here's my latest theme:

Image
Yes, I have a Dell Ultrathin Monitor (S2719DM). I think Banksia does scale the logo size. I just needed to uncheck 'one line' in the settings window. My screen resolution is set at 2650x1440.

PS: The wood panels behind the chess board remind me of a steam room, I see those chess engines as bringing on the heat! :D Nice theme!
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

mephisto
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:10 am
Location: England

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by mephisto » Thu Jan 23, 2020 3:52 pm

When I tried to install the software, I got the two following system error messages.

VCRUNTIME140.dll was not found
MSVCP140.dll was not found

Any help would be really appreciated.
What's my next move? - to the fridge for another beer !!

User avatar
Ovyron
Posts: 4402
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:30 am

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by Ovyron » Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:24 pm

mephisto wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 3:52 pm
When I tried to install the software, I got the two following system error messages.

VCRUNTIME140.dll was not found
MSVCP140.dll was not found

Any help would be really appreciated.
I used to have that problem with some other software, installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) solved the issue:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=5555

(restart Windows after installing)

Post Reply