ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33014
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.145 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:10 pm

Codeman wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:
Codeman wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:Hi Matthias,

I still can't get Glass 0.1.0c working correctly. It searches to a depth of 5 whereas other engines are searching at least twice further. Any special commands I need to use?

Cheers, Graham.
Sorry I didn't recognize this post any sooner. Is the problem solved by now? Is it an issue with Glass? Can it be reproduced? Are there any logs? Does the problem still exist in the new Version 1.0?
Hi Edmund,

I've not tried Glass 1.0 under ChessGUI yet, but will try soon.
From the comments of others, it would seem that I'm the only one who has had a problem with Glass 0.1.0c under ChessGUI (works fine under Fritz and Shredder on the same computer though), so I wouldn't let it worry you at this stage.

Cheers,
Graham.
Thanks Graham,
anyway going from Version 0.1.0c to 1.0. I made a couple of changes to the communication code (eg. rate of sending information, changing of library used for reading GUI commands, rates at which GUI commands are parsed, etc)
Maybe in the process I 'accidently' fixed your problem. Otherwise as I said, a log file would definitely shed light on the issue.

Edmund
Hi Edmund,

Glass 1.0 works fine for me under ChessGUI whereas Glass 0.1.0c doesn't.
I'll let Glass 0.1.0c play a game and will send you the debug file.

Cheers,
Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

krazyken

Re: ChessGUI 0.146 is out

Post by krazyken » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:11 am

Hello Matthias,
I just downloaded 0.146 to try out. I could get it to play engine-engine games fine, but when I tried to play human vs engine, the game would never start.

Also a feature request, for those that do testing, If an engine doesn't support GUI book, but does support setboard, have an option to have those engines start with setboard once the GUI book decides what the starting position for the match should be.

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.146 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:50 am

krazyken wrote:Hello Matthias,
I just downloaded 0.146 to try out. I could get it to play engine-engine games fine, but when I tried to play human vs engine, the game would never start.

Also a feature request, for those that do testing, If an engine doesn't support GUI book, but does support setboard, have an option to have those engines start with setboard once the GUI book decides what the starting position for the match should be.

I shall check the human vs engine issue.
The feature you request can be provided. How would you name it ?

Best,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

krazyken

Re: ChessGUI 0.146 is out

Post by krazyken » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:26 am

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
krazyken wrote:Hello Matthias,
I just downloaded 0.146 to try out. I could get it to play engine-engine games fine, but when I tried to play human vs engine, the game would never start.

Also a feature request, for those that do testing, If an engine doesn't support GUI book, but does support setboard, have an option to have those engines start with setboard once the GUI book decides what the starting position for the match should be.

I shall check the human vs engine issue.
The feature you request can be provided. How would you name it ?

Best,
Matthias.
I guess it would be something like "use setboard instead of GUI book"

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Sun Apr 05, 2009 6:57 pm

ChessGUI 0.148 is out

- complete FENs
- WB with no "force" mode can now jump over GUI book
(uncheck "cannot use GUI Book" and check unsupported WB "force")
- fixes parameter saving bug for WB engines that cannot analyze

- only my T-Online website is updated

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33014
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:21 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.148 is out

- complete FENs
- WB with no "force" mode can now jump over GUI book
(uncheck "cannot use GUI Book" and check unsupported WB "force")
- fixes parameter saving bug for WB engines that cannot analyze

- only my T-Online website is updated

Matthias.
Apart from Amundsen, are there any other engines that you're aware of for which a user will need to do this?

Cheers, Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:10 pm

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.148 is out

- WB with no "force" mode can now jump over GUI book
(uncheck "cannot use GUI Book" and check unsupported WB "force")

Matthias.
Apart from Amundsen, are there any other engines that you're aware of for which a user will need to do this?

Cheers, Graham.

Hi Graham,
at least 30 non-unique WB engines, but only few of them are most recent versions.
Best,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33014
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Mon Apr 06, 2009 4:13 am

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.148 is out

- WB with no "force" mode can now jump over GUI book
(uncheck "cannot use GUI Book" and check unsupported WB "force")

Matthias.
Apart from Amundsen, are there any other engines that you're aware of for which a user will need to do this?

Cheers, Graham.

Hi Graham,
at least 30 non-unique WB engines, but only few of them are most recent versions.
Best,
Matthias.
Thanks Matthias. Do you know which few are the most recent versions?

Sorry to be a pain,
Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33014
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Mon Apr 06, 2009 4:23 am

Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.148 is out

- complete FENs
- WB with no "force" mode can now jump over GUI book
(uncheck "cannot use GUI Book" and check unsupported WB "force")
- fixes parameter saving bug for WB engines that cannot analyze

- only my T-Online website is updated

Matthias.
Hi Matthias,

I can only see ChessGUI 0.147 there.

Regards, Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Spock

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Spock » Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:11 am

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.148 is out

- complete FENs
- WB with no "force" mode can now jump over GUI book
(uncheck "cannot use GUI Book" and check unsupported WB "force")
- fixes parameter saving bug for WB engines that cannot analyze

- only my T-Online website is updated

Matthias.
Hi Matthias,

I can only see ChessGUI 0.147 there.

Regards, Graham.
When you download it, it is 0.148 :wink:

Post Reply