ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:58 pm

ChessGUI 0.144 is out

- more colours
- option to limit output during bullet

My colours (in ChsGUI_Ini.INI or debug file) are:
GUI_Colors=9885161 11456697 4227327 10790052 8766146 13816530 13738915 16761992 10926087 16767449 11992940 10801663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663

Everybody is encouraged to share recommendable colours with me.


Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30765
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:04 pm

Thanks Matthias. Will take a look. :)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:21 pm

Graham Banks wrote:Thanks Matthias. Will take a look. :)

Hi Graham,
did you receive my email about the 400 MB ChessGUI.exe during gauntlets ?
I could not reproduce the bug :( .
Best,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30765
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:31 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:Thanks Matthias. Will take a look. :)

Hi Graham,
did you receive my email about the 400 MB ChessGUI.exe during gauntlets ?
I could not reproduce the bug :( .
Best,
Matthias.
Hi Matthias,

I'm sorry I did not reply. I'll take a screenshot for you.

Cheers, Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30765
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:40 pm

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:Thanks Matthias. Will take a look. :)

Hi Graham,
did you receive my email about the 400 MB ChessGUI.exe during gauntlets ?
I could not reproduce the bug :( .
Best,
Matthias.
Hi Matthias,

I'm sorry I did not reply. I'll take a screenshot for you.

Cheers, Graham.
Image

The ChessGUI.exe is up to 600mb on one of my machines. I haven't tried the version that you sent me yet though.
If I exit ChessGUI when running a gauntlet, I can't get back into the "tournament/normal chess" to access it again after I restart. Again I've yet to try that version you sent me though.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Spock

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Spock » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:00 pm

For me, ChessGUI used up at 300MB of memory at the end of a 100 game gauntlet. I'm not sure what it starts off at, 60MB, can't remember. But it's memory use continues to grow the more games it plays. This was with older versions though, i.e. 0.139 or something. I'm not sure if it does it with the newer versions - I'm currently running 0.143. I'll keep an eye on it and report back.

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:01 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.144 is out

- more colours
- option to limit output during bullet

My colours (in ChsGUI_Ini.INI or debug file) are:
GUI_Colors=9885161 11456697 4227327 10790052 8766146 13816530 13738915 16761992 10926087 16767449 11992940 10801663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663 2147483663

Everybody is encouraged to share recommendable colours with me.


Matthias.

Maybe I broke something in ChessGUI just before uploading.
I added a deadly feature :cry:
Stay tuned.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:07 pm

Spock wrote:For me, ChessGUI used up at 300MB of memory at the end of a 100 game gauntlet. I'm not sure what it starts off at, 60MB, can't remember. But it's memory use continues to grow the more games it plays. This was with older versions though, i.e. 0.139 or something. I'm not sure if it does it with the newer versions - I'm currently running 0.143. I'll keep an eye on it and report back.

Hi Ray,
if you can reproduce the bug in gauntlets,
try a roundrobin and a swiss and see whether the bug also shows up.
Best,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30765
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:17 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Spock wrote:For me, ChessGUI used up at 300MB of memory at the end of a 100 game gauntlet. I'm not sure what it starts off at, 60MB, can't remember. But it's memory use continues to grow the more games it plays. This was with older versions though, i.e. 0.139 or something. I'm not sure if it does it with the newer versions - I'm currently running 0.143. I'll keep an eye on it and report back.

Hi Ray,
if you can reproduce the bug in gauntlets,
try a roundrobin and a swiss and see whether the bug also shows up.
Best,
Matthias.
It does for round robins also here.
The version that you sent me won't allow me back into the gauntlet I was running.
Don't get discouraged though because ChessGUI is improving all the time.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Spock

Re: ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Post by Spock » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:27 pm

Graham Banks wrote: Don't get discouraged though because ChessGUI is improving all the time.
Yes - it is the only GUI I use now for engine matches

Post Reply