FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
Steve Maughan
Posts: 1221
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Florida, USA

FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Post by Steve Maughan »

I'm trying to add FRC / Chess960 capabilities to Maverick. It's proving to be a more complex than I anticipated.

I'm currently debugging my move generator using a FRC perft routine. It looks as if I still have some errors.

Here's my question - does anyone know of a FRC engine which supports the "divide" commands i.e. prints out the nodes searched under each possible move?

I used Sharper when I was debugging the regular move generator but it doesn't support FRC.

Thanks - Steve
http://www.chessprogramming.net - Maverick Chess Engine
User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Post by gbtami »

Steve Maughan wrote:I'm trying to add FRC / Chess960 capabilities to Maverick. It's proving to be a more complex than I anticipated.

I'm currently debugging my move generator using a FRC perft routine. It looks as if I still have some errors.

Here's my question - does anyone know of a FRC engine which supports the "divide" commands i.e. prints out the nodes searched under each possible move?

I used Sharper when I was debugging the regular move generator but it doesn't support FRC.

Thanks - Steve
Seems Hermann engine by Volker Annuss supports "divide":
http://www.open-aurec.com/wbforum/viewt ... 4&start=20
http://www.nnuss.de/Hermann/
zullil
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:31 am
Location: PA USA
Full name: Louis Zulli

Re: FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Post by zullil »

Steve Maughan wrote:I'm trying to add FRC / Chess960 capabilities to Maverick. It's proving to be a more complex than I anticipated.

I'm currently debugging my move generator using a FRC perft routine. It looks as if I still have some errors.

Here's my question - does anyone know of a FRC engine which supports the "divide" commands i.e. prints out the nodes searched under each possible move?

I used Sharper when I was debugging the regular move generator but it doesn't support FRC.

Thanks - Steve
Stockfish?

Supports FRC and has command named perft that takes a single depth parameter and gives "divided" output.
User avatar
Evert
Posts: 2929
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:42 am
Location: NL

Re: FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Post by Evert »

Steve Maughan wrote: Here's my question - does anyone know of a FRC engine which supports the "divide" commands i.e. prints out the nodes searched under each possible move?
Sjaak has this.

Simply give

Code: Select all

variant fischerandom
setboard <fen>
perft N 1
to perform perft N on the given position and print out the number of nodes under each move at depth 1.

Sjaak II accepts "chess960" and ""fischerrandom" as alternative names. In fact, setting "variant fischerandom" is optional, since Sjaak always plays FRC when it claims to be playing Chess.
User avatar
Steve Maughan
Posts: 1221
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Post by Steve Maughan »

Awesome - I'll take a look!

Thanks - Steve
http://www.chessprogramming.net - Maverick Chess Engine
mar
Posts: 2559
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Full name: Martin Sedlak

Re: FRC / Chess960 Engine with "Divided" Command

Post by mar »

You can try latest cheng4 as well.