Piece drops and horizon effect

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

hgm
Full name: H G Muller

Piece drops and horizon effect

Post by hgm »

I have little experience with Crazyhouse engines. But I noticed that many of the weaker Shogi engines show the same characteristic foolish behavior:

1) Drop a Pawn at X so it attacks an opponent Pawn at Y
2) Y x X
3) Piece x X
4) P@Y {attacking the Piece}
5) Withdraw Piece {usually to where it came from}

Much of this sequence is forced: if Y would not capture X in (2), then X could capture Y in (3), often with promotion. So you cannot ignore the drop (1) and start wih your own attack, even if you have a profitable one. Using the Pawn to capture, however, compromises your Pawn wall, through which the recapturing piece might enter, capturing something that before was shielded by the Pawn. This forces (4) to close hole.

At the end of the sequence everything is back where it started, but the other side now has the move. So the sequence wastes a tempo for the side that initiated it. If he withdraws the recapturing piece to another square then were it came from, it does not even waste a tempo, but is equivalent to moving the piece there directly (if that was possible). It just inserts 4 extra ply.

Now wasting a tempo is only penalized if it pushes useful moves (with positive score) over the horizon. A 'side-to-move bonus' would not help, as who is to move at the leave node is only dependent on the depth, not on whether you waste a tempo along the branch. If there is trouble coming towards you, the 4 inserted ply are actually a rather cheap way to push it beyond the horizon. This probably explains why the sequence of moves is so popular; it is like you are allowed to play R=4 null moves in the PV: head in the sand, and don't move a muscle while the opponent gradually closes in on you without meeting any resistance.