Beginning to Program...

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Suji

Beginning to Program...

Post by Suji »

I'm relatively new to the computer chess programming, but I've researched it quite a bit. I've liked chess for years, but never into the programming side of it until recently.

I'm trying to program an engine (named Pebble), but I've found that programming chess is a lot harder than it looks. I don't think it helps much that I'm still a beginner at programming, either.

I want to at least make an engine that can beat me. That's my whole goal with computer chess. I think once I understand most of the intricacies, I won't feel so overwhelmed then.

I'm having trouble with the board representation. I am planning to implement the 0x88 method since I think that bitboards are stupid (I don't understand them at all.). Obviously, though, the top programs use bitboards and I can see why. It's a slick implementation that makes the program run smoother. I think I might implement these later once I understand them.

Here is the code I have so far. I am using C++, since I'm learning it right now, and even though it's a speed drain I am going to be using Object Oriented Programming.

Code: Select all

class Board
{
	private:
		int board[128];  //Will keep track of the state of the board
		int fifty_move_rule;  //Keeps track of the fifty move rule
		int total_moves;	 //Keeps track of the total number of moves
		int sidetomove;  //Keeps track of the side to move

struct pieces
		{
			static const int whitepawn = 1;
			static const int whiteknight = 2;
			static const int whitebishop = 3;
			static const int whiterook = 4;
			static const int whitequeen = 5;
			static const int whiteking = 6;
			static const int blackpawn = -1;
			static const int blackknight = -2;
			static const int blackbishop = -3;
			static const int blackrook = -4;
			static const int blackqueen = -5;
			static const int blackking = -6;
		};