handling huge pgn databases

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Jonathan003
Full name: Jonathan Cremers

handling huge pgn databases

Post by Jonathan003 »

What software is able to handle huge pgn databases? Databases of 60.0000.000 games.
I want to merger two pgn databases from 30.000.0000 games. And search the resulting database for doubles and delete them. And with doubles I mean games with exact the same moves and results. So, two game with exact the same moves and result are considered doubles also If the player names, date tournament or other information is different. And if doubles are found I want to keep the better game (elo, more recent...).

I have tied SCID 4.7 and I get an error message saying something like "to many player names" if I try to merge the two databases.
I hope someone can help me with this. I have no programming knowledge.
dkappe
Full name: Dietrich Kappe

Re: handling huge pgn databases

Post by dkappe »

Jonathan003 wrote: Mon Jan 31, 2022 6:51 pm What software is able to handle huge pgn databases? Databases of 60.0000.000 games.
I want to merger two pgn databases from 30.000.0000 games. And search the resulting database for doubles and delete them. And with doubles I mean games with exact the same moves and results. So, two game with exact the same moves and result are considered doubles also If the player names, date tournament or other information is different. And if doubles are found I want to keep the better game (elo, more recent...).

I have tied SCID 4.7 and I get an error message saying something like "to many player names" if I try to merge the two databases.
I hope someone can help me with this. I have no programming knowledge.