Arasan 23.0

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

jdart
Posts: 4367
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by jdart »

Re the questions about the network:

The network is compatible with the Stockfish 13 network architecture.

The initial network was trained using 1B or so selfplay positions using nodchip's tuner.

The first gen network was then used to generate 2B selfplay games and those were used for another tuning run, generating the current network.

I still expect this network is not optimal but it does seem to perform well. Because it's external to the program the network is replaceable should I generate a better one.
User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 7017
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:04 pm
Full name: Ed Schröder

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by Rebel »

jdart wrote: Wed Sep 08, 2021 9:46 pm I have just now pushed an update that fixes the issue with the default NNUE option values under UCI.

The console app does output a message on startup saying what net it is loading but it's not prefixed with "info" so may not be visible in the GUI. You should see it in debug output, though.

--Jon
The problem for non AVX2 compiles remains the same, only 86K NPS. And the 32 bit version is even faster 101K NPS.
90% of coding is debugging, the other 10% is writing bugs.
jdart
Posts: 4367
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by jdart »

Rebel wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 10:49 am [The problem for non AVX2 compiles remains the same, only 86K NPS. And the 32 bit version is even faster 101K NPS.
That's a known issue: no SIMD support for non-AVX2 architectures. On the to-do list. For right now I just recommend disabling NNUE if not on AVX2.
User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 7017
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:04 pm
Full name: Ed Schröder

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by Rebel »

jdart wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 11:41 am
Rebel wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 10:49 am [The problem for non AVX2 compiles remains the same, only 86K NPS. And the 32 bit version is even faster 101K NPS.
That's a known issue: no SIMD support for non-AVX2 architectures. On the to-do list. For right now I just recommend disabling NNUE if not on AVX2.
An AVX compile will do. Most older computers support it.
90% of coding is debugging, the other 10% is writing bugs.
User avatar
pohl4711
Posts: 2447
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:25 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Full name: Stefan Pohl

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by pohl4711 »

jdart wrote: Wed Sep 08, 2021 9:46 pm I have just now pushed an update that fixes the issue with the default NNUE option values under UCI.

The console app does output a message on startup saying what net it is loading but it's not prefixed with "info" so may not be visible in the GUI. You should see it in debug output, though.

--Jon
The Engine (23.0.1) plays now with expected strength in cutechess-cli, but after each game, cutechess-cli prints a warning-message:
"EngineProcess: Process is destroyed while engine is still running".

So, there is definitly still an issue here!
Gabor Szots
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:43 am
Location: Szentendre, Hungary
Full name: Gabor Szots

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by Gabor Szots »

Trying to compile it under Windows using the makefile I get this message: Makefile:41: *** missing separator. Stop.

I searched the web and found that this could be caused by using spaces in the makefile instead of tabs. However, whatever I do the message remains.
Gabor Szots
CCRL testing group
jdart
Posts: 4367
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by jdart »

Gabor Szots wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 1:54 pm Trying to compile it under Windows using the makefile I get this message: Makefile:41: *** missing separator. Stop.

I searched the web and found that this could be caused by using spaces in the makefile instead of tabs. However, whatever I do the message remains.
There are two Makefiles. Makefile.win in Github (= Makefile in the Windows source zip) is for Microsoft NMAKE. Makefile in the repo and in the Linux/Mac source tarball is for Gnu Make. They are both working for me.
Carlos777
Posts: 1741
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by Carlos777 »

jdart wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 11:41 am
Rebel wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 10:49 am [The problem for non AVX2 compiles remains the same, only 86K NPS. And the 32 bit version is even faster 101K NPS.
That's a known issue: no SIMD support for non-AVX2 architectures. On the to-do list. For right now I just recommend disabling NNUE if not on AVX2.
Very old HW here (Phenom II x6) :D
I'll keep using the classic version for my tournaments. This is single thread, ponder off, 1'+0.5", random openings (limited to 5 moves,) both versions play the same position with reversed colors.

Code: Select all

                             Score     (Tie)  12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 1: Arasan 23.0.1 Classic  36.0 / 50  504.00  ==1=1===111==1100=100=1111111=0110110111=1=111111=  (+29 -7 =14)
 2: Arasan 23.0.1 NNUE     14.0 / 50  504.00  ==0=0===000==0011=011=0000000=1001001000=0=000000=  (+7 -29 =14)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
50 games: +19 -17 =14
jdart
Posts: 4367
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by jdart »

I searched the web and found that this could be caused by using spaces in the makefile instead of tabs. However, whatever I do the message remains.
You are using which compiler? and which Makefile?
Gabor Szots
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:43 am
Location: Szentendre, Hungary
Full name: Gabor Szots

Re: Arasan 23.0

Post by Gabor Szots »

jdart wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 3:31 am
I searched the web and found that this could be caused by using spaces in the makefile instead of tabs. However, whatever I do the message remains.
You are using which compiler? and which Makefile?
I use the windows makefile. I first tried GCC 10.3 (mingw32-make.exe) then NMAKE. With the former I got that missing separator message, with the latter I get this:

NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\BuildTools\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.29.30133\bin\Hostx64\x64\cl.EXE"' : return code '0x2'
Stop.
Gabor Szots
CCRL testing group