Purpose of correspondence chess in modern era

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

eligolf
Full name: Elias Nilsson

Purpose of correspondence chess in modern era

Post by eligolf »

I want to start by saying that I have very little knowledge in the correspondence chess world or how thing works with tournaments and stuff. Therefore I am sorry if I offend some correspondence chess player with my post :)

The main question: What is the point of correspondence chess in the computer era?

To me it seems completely pointless to play correspondence chess with the aid of computers, which I understand is allowed? Everyone have access to the same software and hardware (theoretically) so therefore it takes very little knowledge to draw a "master" correspondence chess player? It seems more to be a matter of "my thing is larger than yours", i.e. a competition of who can afford the best hardware for the purpose. Is even the slightest chess knowledge needed?

Sorry again for my complete lack of knowledge in this field. I don't want to offend anyone, just trying to understand and learn :)
JohnW

Re: Purpose of correspondence chess in modern era

Post by JohnW »

From what I have read, some correspondence chess tournaments consider it cheating to use a computer and if you were to win the tournament director can select one of your games and require you to provide analysis to prove you knew what you were doing on your own. There are also different types of correspondence chess called Centaur tournaments where human\computer teams compete against each other and you can also enter a stand alone computer. Often times the human\computer will beat the computer stand alone. I guess the theory is that the humans are better in the end game and certain positional situations and without time constraints will come up with a better decision.
Ozymandias

Post by Ozymandias »