All right Evert! I can stop a joker check simply moving another piece (includind the same king!). But I don't understand what kind of mistakes or conflits that it is able to produce: why? Example, please.Evert wrote:It works, but you need to explicitly define it this way - and as I said, I think it's a mistake because it leads to very strange and counter-intuitive situations. In short, I think it makes the rules not be self-consistent.Pippo wrote: until you don't move, my joker persists in the last imitation value. This is ok, it isn't?
Say I move my queen, then you check me with your joker. You say the joker still moves as a queen, therefore I am in check and need to do something about it. So I move a knight somewhere on the other side of the board. Now your joker moves as a knight, and therefore I am no longer in check. In fact, the only way I would still be in check (thus making my last move illegal) would be if I moved a queen (or rook, or bishop) in such a way that your joker still attacks my king - but then it doesn't matter at all if it was also moving as a queen on the last move.
Perhaps it only makes a practical difference in things like the KJvK ending.
You cannot put yourself in check, that's obvious. But that isn't the situation I'm referring to.Ex: my joker, imitating a bishop, is in front your king (for example: my joker is in b3, your king in b8 with no pieces between). It is your tourn: you cannot move the queen, neither a rook! This is what I call "inhibition"; it is very importan: if I attack your queen at next movement (with immutate situation joker-king) you lost your queen because she does not escape.
Is it clair now?
<<but then it doesn't matter at all if it was also moving as a queen on the last move>>
depends on you mean with "matter"

<<Perhaps it only makes a practical difference in things like the KJvK ending.>>
Here I don't understand what you say: sorry, my blame

What do you means with "KJvK ending"? For me is arabian

Sorry.
Ciao