LCZero update (2)

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
User avatar
CMCanavessi
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:06 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: LCZero update

Post by CMCanavessi » Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:37 am

New official version released:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... s/tag/v0.4

Finally includes a windows build with all the dlls, and a working windows CPU-Only build as well
Follow my tournament and some Leela gauntlets live at http://twitch.tv/ccls

Nay Lin Tun
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:34 am

Re: LCZero update

Post by Nay Lin Tun » Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:54 am

What is the estimated efficiency of CPU version, 20%, 30% or higher than that?

carldaman
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:13 am

Re: LCZero update

Post by carldaman » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:09 am

CMCanavessi wrote:New official version released:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... s/tag/v0.4

Finally includes a windows build with all the dlls, and a working windows CPU-Only build as well
Thanks a lot, this is actually working! :D

jpqy
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:31 am
Location: Belgium

Re: LCZero update

Post by jpqy » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:56 am

Thanks!

Put the windows version into a folder..click on LCZero.. and i get just a flashing command prompt window ,open,close?

Still not working..

JP.

User avatar
Laskos
Posts: 9059
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:21 pm
Full name: Kai Laskos

Re: LCZero update

Post by Laskos » Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:38 am

CMCanavessi wrote:New official version released:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... s/tag/v0.4

Finally includes a windows build with all the dlls, and a working windows CPU-Only build as well
I have a weak video card, but I didn't expect that:
http://www.talkchess.com/forum/viewtopi ... 45&start=5

CPU version is performing much better. Is LCZero using the GPU card properly?

jkiliani
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: LCZero update

Post by jkiliani » Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:51 am

If you have cutechess_cli or some other software that can conduct chess engine tournaments, could you run a competition between the CPU and GPU versions at equal playouts? There has been talk on Github that GPU version is producing large error due to OpenCL calculations sometime, it would be cool if you could provide data on that (and share on Github).

Your tournament so far is a good start, but just means that this GPU just doesn't work well for you. We'd need equal playout settings (e.g. 800) to make this meaningful in evaluating whether the GPU calculation errors hurt playing strength a lot.

smatovic
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: LCZero update (2)...Deep Green?

Post by smatovic » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:05 am

Maybe it is time for Deep Green....

https://www.anandtech.com/show/12587/nv ... -only-400k

400K Bucks anyone?

--
Srdja

PS: and some power plant nearby?

User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 2815
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: LCZero update

Post by Guenther » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:31 am

Laskos wrote:
CMCanavessi wrote:New official version released:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... s/tag/v0.4

Finally includes a windows build with all the dlls, and a working windows CPU-Only build as well
I have a weak video card, but I didn't expect that:
http://www.talkchess.com/forum/viewtopi ... 45&start=5

CPU version is performing much better. Is LCZero using the GPU card properly?
I had a very different experience with the (finally) working cpu version.
Here it was around 4 times slower on one thread despite having a cheap
gpu card. May be I create exact numbers again. Currently I have already
deleted the cpu version after my measurement.
Current foe list count : [83]
http://rwbc-chess.de/chronology.htm

User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 2815
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: LCZero update

Post by Guenther » Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:19 pm

Ok I reinstalled it and recalculated, which was interesting anyway after my earlier suggestion to add some gpu benchmark page.

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-chess/issues/203

I had set up an early draft at google docs already and used the latest suggestion from error 23 which runs a traing game under exact conditions. (generalized now to cpu and gpu benchmarks)

Code: Select all

lczero -w 0b93ff053467f47c57c2182e144a45c9633249519b7297c4f41fc07b30a88dd8 -t1 --start="train 1 1" -q -s 1
The result is that my gpu gives 3,32 faster average nps than my cpu.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... cAGCk/edit
Current foe list count : [83]
http://rwbc-chess.de/chronology.htm

Joost Buijs
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:47 am
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: LCZero update

Post by Joost Buijs » Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:39 pm

Guenther wrote:
Laskos wrote:
CMCanavessi wrote:New official version released:

https://github.com/glinscott/leela-ches ... s/tag/v0.4

Finally includes a windows build with all the dlls, and a working windows CPU-Only build as well
I have a weak video card, but I didn't expect that:
http://www.talkchess.com/forum/viewtopi ... 45&start=5

CPU version is performing much better. Is LCZero using the GPU card properly?
I had a very different experience with the (finally) working cpu version.
Here it was around 4 times slower on one thread despite having a cheap
gpu card. May be I create exact numbers again. Currently I have already
deleted the cpu version after my measurement.
Over here the CPU only version does about 400 n/s on a single core (Broadwell 3.8 GHz.), when I use my cheap GT-720 GPU with 192 Cuda cores this figure drops down to 250 n/s. On my GTX-1080Ti it runs at ~3500 n/s (when running 2 instances of the client).

I have the feeling that the new v4 client has problems uploading the games. This morning I let v4 run for some time, it produced about 30 games but only a few of them appear in the server statistics. Running the client with -debug doesn't give any extra information at all, so I really don't know what is going on.
Last edited by Joost Buijs on Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply