STS Stat and Arena 3.5

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
eric.oldre
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:07 am
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

STS Stat and Arena 3.5

Post by eric.oldre » Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:33 pm

I'm attempting to use STS Stat (3.2) to summarize the results of running my engine on the STS test suite. as described here:

https://sites.google.com/site/strategic ... e/sts-stat

I'm having the same issue as Ma Chao did in this thread from 2012.

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... t=sts+stat

Have their been any public releases of STS stat since 2010? Are their better tools available for running a winboard engine through a suite of EPD tests

Eric

User avatar
Ajedrecista
Posts: 1373
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:04 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain.
Contact:

Re: STS Stat and Arena 3.5.

Post by Ajedrecista » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:11 pm

Hello Eric:
eric.oldre wrote:I'm attempting to use STS Stat (3.2) to summarize the results of running my engine on the STS test suite. as described here:

https://sites.google.com/site/strategic ... e/sts-stat

I'm having the same issue as Ma Chao did in this thread from 2012.

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... t=sts+stat

Have their been any public releases of STS stat since 2010? Are their better tools available for running a winboard engine through a suite of EPD tests

Eric
I can not answer you to the technical stuff but I bring you some info:

· STS 14 is not the last STS: there is a version 15 of avoid pointless exchanges:

STS 15 - Avoid Pointless Exchange

· STS Tool was retouched (sic) in 2011. Two links:

... about STS_Tool.exe (in ChessGUI package)

an STS Tool retouched

I know that ChessGUI is not Arena; if you want to download STS_Tool.zip, please try here.

I hope you will solve the problem. Any help is welcome in this thread.

Regards from Spain.

Ajedrecista.

eric.oldre
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:07 am
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: STS Stat and Arena 3.5.

Post by eric.oldre » Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:17 pm

I tried to download ChessGUI from http://www.chess.hylogic.de/

On my windows 8.1 machine when I run ChessGUI.exe I don't get any user interface, although I do see that a process has been started. Does it need a command line option passed in to show the GUI?

Post Reply