How beautiful is your code?

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

JuLieN
Full name: Julien Marcel

How beautiful is your code?

Post by JuLieN »

In our little community, sources of engines like Fruit or Stockfish are often praised, the first one for its clarity, the second one for its mastering of all C++ tricks (something that, as a pascal programmer, I have to trust you for). But what is a beautiful code ?

I just read a very interesting article on the subject:
http://kotaku.com/5975610/the-exception ... t=56177550

So how beautiful is your code?
"The only good bug is a dead bug." (Don Dailey)
[Blog: http://tinyurl.com/predateur ] [Facebook: http://tinyurl.com/fbpredateur ] [MacEngines: http://tinyurl.com/macengines ]
jdart

Re: How beautiful is your code?

Post by jdart »

I'm pretty pragmatic about it. If the code works I don't obsess about how nice it might be in other respects. Once in a while I go through and clean up things: remove warnings, add "const" where it should be, indent the right way, etc. But I'd rather spend my time on the function not the appearance. That is just my way of doing things.

I am not a big STL fan. I wrote some of my own templated containers because in the early C++ days STL was a nightmare from the standpoint of portability and reliability. But I think it's solidified now.

That said, I agree Stockfish is pretty nicely structured and I think Tord took a bit more care about code than I do.

--Jon
lucasart
Full name: lucasart

Post by lucasart »

jdart wrote:That said, I agree Stockfish is pretty nicely structured and I think Tord took a bit more care about code than I do.
To be fair, the credit should go to Marco Costalba on that. In terms of coding style, Glaurung 2.1 and the latest Stockfish are like day and night. Stockfish manages to combine
1/ use of powerful C++ and STL features
2/ readability and simplicity

More often than not, people writing C++ fall into extremes: