ChessGUI is back.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI is back.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:57 am

ChessGUI is back.

I almost shutdown the ChessGUI because of 2 types of crashes:

1) ChessGUI was allowing a third-party program (Pgn4Web) to access files while ChessGUI was still writing to them.
That bug was fixed in ChessGUI 0.200, making ChessGUI usable for online transmission of games.

2) ChessGUI (since engine CPU load is being measured) could crash after thousands or even just hundreds of games.
This ChessGUI 0.203 fixes the very elusive bug.

I therefore strongly recommend updating to ChessGUI 0.203 ! I consider it rock-solid.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Roger Brown
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:22 pm

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Roger Brown » Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:52 pm

Hello Matthias,

Oh come on now!

Even when you absolutely had to give your gui a rest because you were disenchanted with the lack of bugs in it (that was supposed to be another break too) you carried the version number from 0.19X to 2.03 and counting.

So when were you gone to be back?

:-)

I hope you are having fun with it my friend. Good to see that the creative urges are tormenting you still.

Of course, until it looks like the Chessbase gui it will not quite have made it to the big time....

Later.

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:24 pm

Roger Brown wrote:... you carried the version number from 0.19X to 2.03 and counting.

..., until it looks like the Chessbase gui it will not quite have made it to the big time....

Later.

Hi Roger,

2.03 ?? :D ?? :roll:

I am only dreaming of even 0.5 !!! :wink:

Anyway, now that crashes have vanished, there's hope that a few more features shall be added.

Best,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Roger Brown
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:22 pm

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Roger Brown » Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:43 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Roger Brown wrote:... you carried the version number from 0.19X to 2.03 and counting.

..., until it looks like the Chessbase gui it will not quite have made it to the big time....

Later.

Hi Roger,

2.03 ?? :D ?? :roll:

I am only dreaming of even 0.5 !!! :wink:

Anyway, now that crashes have vanished, there's hope that a few more features shall be added.

Best,
Matthias.


Hello Matthias,

Ah, look at what the devil made me do.

:-)

Later.

Christopher Conkie
Posts: 6065
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Christopher Conkie » Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:50 pm

Roger Brown wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Roger Brown wrote:... you carried the version number from 0.19X to 2.03 and counting.

..., until it looks like the Chessbase gui it will not quite have made it to the big time....

Later.

Hi Roger,

2.03 ?? :D ?? :roll:

I am only dreaming of even 0.5 !!! :wink:

Anyway, now that crashes have vanished, there's hope that a few more features shall be added.

Best,
Matthias.


Hello Matthias,

Ah, look at what the devil made me do.

:-)

Later.
You called?

:)

Sooner

Chris

Gregory Owett
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:26 am
Location: France

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Gregory Owett » Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:25 pm

Hi Matthias,

I'm using your excellent GUI for a long time. Version 199a accepts Fischer's clock, but not the 203! At least to do something special?

When I set the time at 5'+3 ", it says 300 and not 300+3. Why?
Thank you for your light!

Gregory

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:55 pm

Gregory Owett wrote:Hi Matthias,

I'm using your excellent GUI for a long time. Version 199a accepts Fischer's clock, but not the 203! At least to do something special?

When I set the time at 5'+3 ", it says 300 and not 300+3. Why?
Thank you for your light!

Gregory
Try 5' + 3000" :D (increments are now in ms).

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Gregory Owett
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:26 am
Location: France

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Gregory Owett » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:42 am

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Gregory Owett wrote:Hi Matthias,

I'm using your excellent GUI for a long time. Version 199a accepts Fischer's clock, but not the 203! At least to do something special?

When I set the time at 5'+3 ", it says 300 and not 300+3. Why?
Thank you for your light!

Gregory
Try 5' + 3000" :D (increments are now in ms).

Matthias.
Good idea :-) :lol:
Thanks, going well !

Gregory

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:25 pm

ChessGUI 0.204 is a first attempt at Html.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Albert Silver
Posts: 2749
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Re: ChessGUI is back.

Post by Albert Silver » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:44 pm

Roger Brown wrote:I hope you are having fun with it my friend. Good to see that the creative urges are tormenting you still.
Agreed.
Of course, until it looks like the Chessbase gui it will not quite have made it to the big time....
Disagree here. I think it doesn't have the same purpose so it is unimportant. It offers things the CB GUI does not. In DF12 GUI I cannot run gauntlets of more than 256 different games (128 positions inverting colors), nor can I run games using fractions of a second. Note that this isn't just interesting for massive Eng-Eng matches, it is also interesting for time handicapped matches. Ex: suppose you are a 2000 player wanting to play a g/15 match against Rybka, and you don't want it dumbed down, just limited. In the Fritz GUI there is no way to have it play game in 10 seconds (for example).
"Tactics are the bricks and sticks that make up a game, but positional play is the architectural blueprint."

Post Reply