Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:14 pm

Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

A ChessGUI user is having weird problems with current ChessGUI.
When he re-starts ChessGUI, all his installed engines disappear (even in engine installation window).
Has any other user ever experienced anything similar with any ChessGUI version ?

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:50 pm

BTW, the problem may have started when he updated ChessGUI.exe to this version

http://www.hugedrive.com/published/WG/s ... =-28c7b463

that permits more Hash than 1024 MB.


Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:10 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:BTW, the problem may have started when he updated ChessGUI.exe to this version

http://www.hugedrive.com/published/WG/s ... =-28c7b463

that permits more Hash than 1024 MB.


Matthias.
Is anybody courageous enough to download (again) and test the ChessGUI 0.196 now at my website, together with this ChessGUI.exe ?

http://www.hugedrive.com/published/WG/s ... =-28c7b463

If you have enough memory, can you try 2048 MB Hash to see whether engines will disappear after a game and GUI re-start ?
If you don't have that much memory, test with whatever Hash you can.

Save your old ChsGUI_Eng.TXT and ChsGUI_Cfg.ini somewhere safe before experimenting.

If anybody makes the test, please tell us whatever outcome you get.

Thanks,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32237
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Graham Banks » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:26 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote: Is anybody courageous enough to download (again) and test the ChessGUI 0.196 now at my website, together with this ChessGUI.exe ?
I could try it for my next tourney.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:47 pm

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote: Is anybody courageous enough to download (again) and test the ChessGUI 0.196 now at my website, together with this ChessGUI.exe ?
I could try it for my next tourney.
That would be great, Graham.

The thing is refusing to misbehave here, so every test by other people is very welcome.

Thanks,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Adam Hair
Posts: 3199
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Adam Hair » Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:56 am

I've been meaning to try ChessGUI out. I will do so now and give you
information on any problems that may occur.

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Sat Aug 14, 2010 4:39 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

A ChessGUI user is having weird problems with current ChessGUI.
When he re-starts ChessGUI, all his installed engines disappear (even in engine installation window).
Has any other user ever experienced anything similar with any ChessGUI version ?

Matthias.
The problem occurs on a Win7 box. No problem on a WinXP box.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32237
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Graham Banks » Sat Aug 14, 2010 7:07 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

A ChessGUI user is having weird problems with current ChessGUI.
When he re-starts ChessGUI, all his installed engines disappear (even in engine installation window).
Has any other user ever experienced anything similar with any ChessGUI version ?

Matthias.
The problem occurs on a Win7 box. No problem on a WinXP box.
I'll be trying it on my i5 which has Win7. Fingers (and toes) crossed!
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

alpha123
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 4:13 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by alpha123 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:48 am

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

A ChessGUI user is having weird problems with current ChessGUI.
When he re-starts ChessGUI, all his installed engines disappear (even in engine installation window).
Has any other user ever experienced anything similar with any ChessGUI version ?

Matthias.
The problem occurs on a Win7 box. No problem on a WinXP box.
I'll be trying it on my i5 which has Win7. Fingers (and toes) crossed!
Crossed toes? Sounds like it hurts! :P

I'll try. Let you know how it goes.
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.50gHz
6GB DDR2 RAM

Peter

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32237
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Is ChessGUI really bug-free ?

Post by Graham Banks » Tue Aug 17, 2010 5:18 am

alpha123 wrote:
Graham Banks wrote: I'll be trying it on my i5 which has Win7. Fingers (and toes) crossed!
Crossed toes? Sounds like it hurts! :P
:D Works okay here although Matthias has since released a newer version with a few further bugfixes.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Post Reply