ChessGUI 0.186 is out there.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI 0.186 is out there.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:47 am

ChessGUI 0.186 is out there.

- I have cleaned up a lot of code and straightened some twisted logic.
- Format of books has changed !!

Is there anything that did not work for you in some older ChessGUI ?
The chances are that it will work now !

Book creation has a bunch of not yet activated options.

At least these 3 files should be updated: ChessGUI.exe, ChsGUI_Book.cgb, HarrySchnapp.cgb.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI 0.186a is out there.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:23 pm

I have just uploaded ChessGUI 0.186a to fix a bug that was perhaps totally harmless.

Only the T-Online server is currently accessible.


Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30764
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.186a is out there.

Post by Graham Banks » Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:19 pm

I'll try it out Matthias and let you know if I strike any issues. 8-)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.186a is out there.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:49 pm

Graham Banks wrote:I'll try it out Matthias and let you know if I strike any issues. 8-)
Thanks, Graham.

On a PC that already runs ChessGUI, easiest way is to unzip in new folder and just copy ChsGUI_Cfg.ini and ChsGUI_Eng.TXT from previous installation.

Cheers,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30764
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.186a is out there.

Post by Graham Banks » Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:39 am

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:I'll try it out Matthias and let you know if I strike any issues. 8-)
Thanks, Graham.

On a PC that already runs ChessGUI, easiest way is to unzip in new folder and just copy ChsGUI_Cfg.ini and ChsGUI_Eng.TXT from previous installation.

Cheers,
Matthias.
I can see what you mean by different. I suspect I'll need to completely ditch an older ChessGUI folder and its contents and start from scratch. I tried to mix and match only to strike problems.

Cheers,
Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.186a is out there.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:17 am

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:I'll try it out Matthias and let you know if I strike any issues. 8-)
Thanks, Graham.

On a PC that already runs ChessGUI, easiest way is to unzip in new folder and just copy ChsGUI_Cfg.ini and ChsGUI_Eng.TXT from previous installation.

Cheers,
Matthias.
I can see what you mean by different. I suspect I'll need to completely ditch an older ChessGUI folder and its contents and start from scratch. I tried to mix and match only to strike problems.

Cheers,
Graham.
A likely mistake, after mixing, is to try to resume an on-going tournament without first revisiting its time management.

Another mistake is to overlook "At least these 3 files should be updated: ChessGUI.exe, ChsGUI_Book.cgb, HarrySchnapp.cgb.".

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 30764
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.186a is out there.

Post by Graham Banks » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:28 am

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote: I can see what you mean by different. I suspect I'll need to completely ditch an older ChessGUI folder and its contents and start from scratch. I tried to mix and match only to strike problems.

Cheers,
Graham.
A likely mistake, after mixing, is to try to resume an on-going tournament without first revisiting its time management.

Another mistake is to overlook "At least these 3 files should be updated: ChessGUI.exe, ChsGUI_Book.cgb, HarrySchnapp.cgb.".

Matthias.
Actually, it looks like a problem with Brutus 8.05 operating correctly on my i5 rather than a ChessGUI issue. :oops:
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3234
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI 0.187 is out there.

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:00 pm

ChessGUI 0.187 is out there.

- book creation options activated
- Swiss tournament pairing improved

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Post Reply