ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:40 pm

ChessGUI 0.173 is out


The reason why people don't use ChessGUI is that it offers only 1 percent of what Winboard or Arena offers.
ChessGUI does not even analyze games and knows nothing about the internet.
Colours of pieces, board, and other GUI elements can be easily changed.
However, the Wood/Marble stuff is missing.
ChessGUI 0.173 solves Testsuites, if engines are marked as able to analyze.
Help file is scanty and not up-to-date, so if you have questions, ask Graham. :D
ChessGUI is still very unstable if mouse button is held pressed, especially
between games. This instability means engine/GUI communication stops.
If you like the Windows Mine Sweeper game, you'll also like ChessGUI.
It's all about mine fields.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32235
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:57 pm

I use ChessGUI purely for engine v engine testing.
Despite any shortcomings you may have pointed out, it is good enough to be my preferred GUI for engine v engine testing ahead of Fritz, Shredder and Arena. :D
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:11 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:ChessGUI 0.173 is out

ChessGUI is still very unstable if mouse button is held pressed, especially
between games. This instability means engine/GUI communication stops.

The stopped game is replayed after GUI is restarted and tournament resumed.
To prevent this communication breakdown, pause tournament before scrolling around.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Graham Banks wrote:I use ChessGUI purely for engine v engine testing.
Despite any shortcomings you may have pointed out, it is good enough to be my preferred GUI for engine v engine testing ahead of Fritz, Shredder and Arena. :D
Hi Graham,

are you using ChessGUI 0.165 ? :)

Best,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32235
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:21 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:I use ChessGUI purely for engine v engine testing.
Despite any shortcomings you may have pointed out, it is good enough to be my preferred GUI for engine v engine testing ahead of Fritz, Shredder and Arena. :D
Hi Graham,

are you using ChessGUI 0.165 ? :)

Best,
Matthias.
0.162, 0.165 and 0.171 at present.
I stuck with the earlier versions because they were running fine and I prefer the full screen option (plus laziness in updating).

Cheers,
Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:36 pm

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote: Hi Graham,

are you using ChessGUI 0.165 ? :)

Best,
Matthias.
0.162, 0.165 and 0.171 at present.
I stuck with the earlier versions because they were running fine and I prefer the full screen option (plus laziness in updating).

Cheers,
Graham.
As a CCRL guy, you better stick with what you know works fine.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32235
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:06 pm

Just one thing to note Matthias.
Sometimes, after rebooting and then resuming a tournament, the parameters that were set for some of the participants revert to default.
This can be annoying in cases where you've set an engine to use 1cpu and it then starts using 4.
Whenever I restart a tournament, I always make a point of checking the engine parameters of each participant and then correcting them as necessary before resuming.

Cheers,
Graham.
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:29 pm

Graham Banks wrote:Just one thing to note Matthias.
Sometimes, after rebooting and then resuming a tournament, the parameters that were set for some of the participants revert to default.
This can be annoying in cases where you've set an engine to use 1cpu and it then starts using 4.
Whenever I restart a tournament, I always make a point of checking the engine parameters of each participant and then correcting them as necessary before resuming.

Cheers,
Graham.
Probably fixed in 0.173.
I changed way edited parameters are saved.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 32235
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:41 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:Just one thing to note Matthias.
Sometimes, after rebooting and then resuming a tournament, the parameters that were set for some of the participants revert to default.
This can be annoying in cases where you've set an engine to use 1cpu and it then starts using 4.
Whenever I restart a tournament, I always make a point of checking the engine parameters of each participant and then correcting them as necessary before resuming.

Cheers,
Graham.
Probably fixed in 0.173.
I changed way edited parameters are saved.

Matthias.
Okay. A must try then. :P
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Dann Corbit
Posts: 9421
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.173 is out

Post by Dann Corbit » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:56 pm

I want to tell you that this is a really nice project. It is very nice to have people like you working on sound alternative interfaces to increase our enjoyment of computer chess.

Thank you.

Post Reply