Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
zamar
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:03 am

Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by zamar » Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:15 am

Anyone successfully used scorpio bitbases with linux? I've already spent many, many hours trying to make them work and starting to feel quite frustrated.

What I've already tried:

For my 32-bit debian Lenny system:

* I installed packages released here:
http://oko00.hostsharing.net/debian/unofficial/

* Toga loads bitbases at startup correctly, but when it starts probing them, it segfaults.

For my 64-bit debian Lenny system:

* I compiled (after disabling SPINLOCK as instructed) egbbdll and downloaded bitbases by hand. Again toga correctly loads bitbases at startup, but probe causes segfault.

* I wrote my own small probe testing code based on Scorpio sources. Again bitbases are easily loaded, but when I probe them I either get score zero for every possible position or segfault (backtrace shows crash happens in decode).


Any ideas what I might be doing wrong?
Joona Kiiski

BBauer
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:58 pm

Re: Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by BBauer » Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:32 pm

Looks like not so many use linux.

Here is what I got:

Code: Select all

./scorpio
ht 4194304 X 32
pht 2097152 X 16
eht 2097152 X 16
processors [2]
unknown command: exchange_bonus
unknown command: 75
unknown command: exchange_bonus
unknown command: 75
unknown command: exchange_bonus
unknown command: 50
EgbbProbe 3.3 by Daniel Shawul
Egbbs loaded !      
So what?
kind regards
Bernhard

royb
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:53 pm

Re: Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by royb » Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:27 pm

I run Linux on every system I own (32-bit and 64-bit) and I've never been able to get the .dll file (that apparently bitbases need) in source form so it could be compiled into a .so file for Linux. I just use EGTBs and burn the 7.2 GB of disk space for 5-man TBs.

I've not tried to run bitbases under wine (where a .dll file has a chance of working) though.

Roy

bnemias
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:21 am
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by bnemias » Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:36 pm

See here: http://dshawul.googlepages.com/home for bitbases source.

This thread may help if the above isn't enough: http://www.open-aurec.com/wbforum/viewt ... 09&start=0

User avatar
pedrox
Posts: 950
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Basque Country (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by pedrox » Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:10 pm

You've tried bitbases with other programs as sloppy or bbchess?

I have a linux version of danasah (I've tried with ubuntu 32 and 64), which I found that to load bitbases properly and work well.

http://danasah.googlepages.com

For a long time I had no success running bitbases in linux with my engine, until I discovered that I had to add when linking the engine the flags
-ldl, you can see it in the file makefile.

The Windows version works with wine and can also to use bitbases with help the dll file.

Pedro

zamar
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:03 am

Re: Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by zamar » Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:37 am

Could it be that just the latest version of egbdll is incompatible with Linux.

Has anyone been able run the latest version (version 3.3) on Linux?
Joona Kiiski

zamar
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:03 am

Re: Scorpio bitbases with linux. Any success?

Post by zamar » Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:01 am

Just compiled version 3.1 of egbdll and it worked OK.
Joona Kiiski

Post Reply