Banksia GUI released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, bob, hgm

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
JohnW
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by JohnW » Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:14 pm

Is it possible to setup a chess position and have two engines play against each other starting from that position? If not could you consider adding it?
I would like to be able to give an old engine knight odds versus a newer engine.

Thank you..

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:21 pm

JohnW wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:14 pm
Is it possible to setup a chess position and have two engines play against each other starting from that position? If not could you consider adding it?
I would like to be able to give an old engine knight odds versus a newer engine.

Thank you..
Yes and it’s just a quick setup.

If you have that position, just copy and paste it into BSG. BSG can understand FEN, PGN, UCI positions (such as “position startpos moves e2e4 e7e6”).
If you don’t have that position, you may edit to have (menu -> Edit -> Edit Board, Fig. 1). You may also make moves manually (set the game to human vs human then make moves for both sides).

Once you have a game with a give position you will need to set up engines. Menu -> File -> Game setup to open a dialog as the Fig. 2, select engines for both sides (as well as a timer, options) then press the button "OK".

Now from the toolbar, click on the button "Play" until it changed to green as Fig. 3.

All done, have fun :)

Image
Fig. 1 Edit a position

Image
Fig. 2 Game set-up dialog

Image
Fig. 3 Play button (the top left one)
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

JohnW
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by JohnW » Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:32 pm

Awesome! Thank you!

JohnW
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by JohnW » Thu Aug 13, 2020 5:04 pm

phhnguyen wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:21 pm
JohnW wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:14 pm
Is it possible to setup a chess position and have two engines play against each other starting from that position? If not could you consider adding it?
I would like to be able to give an old engine knight odds versus a newer engine.

Thank you..
Yes and it’s just a quick setup.

If you have that position, just copy and paste it into BSG. BSG can understand FEN, PGN, UCI positions (such as “position startpos moves e2e4 e7e6”).
If you don’t have that position, you may edit to have (menu -> Edit -> Edit Board, Fig. 1). You may also make moves manually (set the game to human vs human then make moves for both sides).

Once you have a game with a give position you will need to set up engines. Menu -> File -> Game setup to open a dialog as the Fig. 2, select engines for both sides (as well as a timer, options) then press the button "OK".

Now from the toolbar, click on the button "Play" until it changed to green as Fig. 3.

All done, have fun :)

Image
Fig. 1 Edit a position

Image
Fig. 2 Game set-up dialog

Image
Fig. 3 Play button (the top left one)
Well I followed you directions but it doesn't seem to work. After clicking play, the engine with white never moves. All I see is an arrow for what it's thinking about doing, sometimes it changes etc. But I setup a 10 minute game and it's spent 5 minutes of it without actually moving.

JohnW
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by JohnW » Thu Aug 13, 2020 5:54 pm

Disregard, it works. I was being stupid and given it 10 minutes per move so I didn't think it was doing anything

smcracraft
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Orange County California
Full name: Stuart Cracraft
Contact:

Banksia v0.35

Post by smcracraft » Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:23 am

0.35 is up here on Catalina 10.15.6 (latest patch).

The books are in and it plays randomly, so that is all great.

My concern though is the Settings/Graphics, for example. See attached photo.

If I could see the labels, I could select from the piece types, piece colors, square colors, and board background.

But it's a mysterious white color.

Please kindly advise.

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia v0.35

Post by phhnguyen » Sat Aug 15, 2020 5:40 am

smcracraft wrote:
Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:23 am
0.35 is up here on Catalina 10.15.6 (latest patch).

The books are in and it plays randomly, so that is all great.

My concern though is the Settings/Graphics, for example. See attached photo.

If I could see the labels, I could select from the piece types, piece colors, square colors, and board background.

But it's a mysterious white color.

Please kindly advise.
Thanks a lot for the report!

Frankly speaking, I was not aware of that issue even I am using a Catalina iMac since I use only the standard theme (Appearance Light). I see the problem when trying the dark theme. Will find a solution for the next release.

You may change your computer theme to Light appearance as a temporary solution.
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

smcracraft
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Orange County California
Full name: Stuart Cracraft
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by smcracraft » Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:48 pm

Changing from Dark Theme to Light Theme revealed the labels in settings.

Thanks.

Hopefully Banksia GUI will support Dark theme a well as it is best not to look at bright screens and do closeup work for many decades.

They contribute to increased intraocular eye pressure which leads to glaucoma.

Hence the darker themes.

Thanks ahead.

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Version 0.36 beta released

Post by phhnguyen » Sun Aug 16, 2020 2:54 am

Version 0.36 beta released

* Fixed bugs: some small bugs
* Some small improvements/adjustments such as support Dark theme of macOS Catalina
* New features:  
  • Support Spanish (translated by Patricio Baeza)
  • Auto-download NNUE networks for Stockfish NNUE

Auto-download NNUE networks for Stockfish NNUE is a new-testing feature. The idea is from Vondele of Stockfish dev team. When a user starts installing stockfish NNUE (e.g., by dragging and dropping its execution file into BSG) BSG will check if the default NNUE network exists. If not, it will auto popup a dialog to ask the user to download that file. Just click on the button “Download” and all will be done automatically. The network can be saved into Stockfish main folder or any folder. If another folder is selected, BSG will auto setup the full path for "EvalFile" option.

Later the user can popup that dialog to download again by clicking on the Download button on the option “EvalFile” as below image.

This is the first round of implementation for that feature. Feedbacks/reports are always more than welcome :D

Image
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
F.Huber
Posts: 808
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:50 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Version 0.36 beta released

Post by F.Huber » Sun Aug 16, 2020 9:06 am

phhnguyen wrote:
Sun Aug 16, 2020 2:54 am
Version 0.36 beta released

* Fixed bugs: some small bugs
... but introduced one new bug: version 0.36 doesn't work anymore!

No error message - it just does absolutely NOTHING when you start it.

Post Reply