Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, bob, hgm

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:49 pm

Hello,

C:\Programs\Common Files\ChessBase\Engines x64 contains no Fritz 16 UCI 64-bit, but only Mate 220 from 2017-23-01 (232 KB).

The 32-bit version MSI has a Fritz 16 UCI Engine 32-bit, very strange isn´t it?


Or it is just a consequence of the GUI crash?

Best wishes,
Norbert

User avatar
velmarin
Posts: 1600
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by velmarin » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:15 pm

Those hidden folders are better not to look at them,
That's why they're hidden, so they don't go crazy.
Fritz16 is a good product. :lol:

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:24 pm

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutori ... windows-7/ - this tutorial makes hidden files visible, but I cannot see
any Fritz 16 x64 UCI engine there.

Norbert

User avatar
velmarin
Posts: 1600
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by velmarin » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:20 pm

Engine is in this folder, on my system
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\ChessBase\Engines.uci\Fritz 16\

tpoppins
Posts: 919
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 8:11 pm
Location: upstate

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by tpoppins » Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:54 pm

And, amazingly, it's an updated version of Fritz 16 x64!

C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\ChessBase\Engines.uci\Fritz 16\Fritz 16.exe
Size: 3.02 MB (3,170,224 bytes)
‎Modified date: Wednesday, ‎January ‎10, ‎2018, ‏‎1:22:48 PM
CRC32: A0D1AF58

Still has the TBAccess bug, but at least the hash has been extended to 32 GB:

id name Fritz 16
id author Vasik Rajlich
option name UCI_Query type button
option name System Query type button
option name Hash type spin min 2 max 32768 default 32

Tested with 8GB hash under the Fritz 15 GUI -- it works. Thanks to José and Norbert for this thread!

Colin-G
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:30 pm
Location: England

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by Colin-G » Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:43 pm

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutori ... windows-7/ - this tutorial makes hidden files visible, but I cannot see
any Fritz 16 x64 UCI engine there.

Norbert
According to Chessbase, whether a 64 bit or 32 bit executable gets installed depends on which 64 bit cpu you have.
see this link
http://en.chessbase.com/support-kb/cont ... bit_engine

Since it is in the "Program Files (x86)" rather than the "Program Files" tree, it may well be 32 bit.

rcmaddox
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:59 pm
Location: Winder, GA
Full name: Robert C. Maddox

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by rcmaddox » Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:50 pm

Colin-G wrote:
Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutori ... windows-7/ - this tutorial makes hidden files visible, but I cannot see
any Fritz 16 x64 UCI engine there.

Norbert
According to Chessbase, whether a 64 bit or 32 bit executable gets installed depends on which 64 bit cpu you have.
see this link
http://en.chessbase.com/support-kb/cont ... bit_engine

Since it is in the "Program Files (x86)" rather than the "Program Files" tree, it may well be 32 bit.
Chessbase UCI Engine files get installed in "Program Files (x86)" even when 64 bit. It sounds wrong but that's how they do it.

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: Fritz 16 UCI Engine x64

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:32 am

The answer of ChessBase that Fritz UCI "requires specific processor features" is a cumbersome and vague wording because Speccy https://www.ccleaner.com/speccy has detailed system informations, e.g. CPU
* supported instructions cf
MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, Intel 64, NX, VMX, AES, AVX
(test for my ivy-bridge pc)

An enumeration of the minimum requirements would be better.....

Norbert

Post Reply