Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1604
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:27 am

Hello,

1) Lazy Gull alpha 0.3 x64

On my CPU Ivy-Bridge 22nm microarchitecture (POPCNT, AVX-but not BMI.2) Lazy Gull alpha 0.3 runs on Windows 7 x64 SP1 without problems.

cf. https://github.com/basil00/Gull/issues/6 - that is a little bit strange,
because Broadwell https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broadwell ... hitecture) is the successor of Haswell https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haswell_( ... hitecture)

For owner´s of Haswell-PC´s: Can you confirm this statement?
What error indication shows the debug-file of graphical interfaces like WinBoard, ChessGUI, Arena or Scid vs. PC?

2) Barbarossa 0.4.0 win32 - x64 SSE4.2
https://github.com/nionita/Barbarossa/releases

Nicu told me that is was compiled especially for Windows 10 operation systems , but I have tested these editions in several engine matches (Windows 7 32 & 64 bit SP1) - it works significantly slower than on Windows 10 and lost many games because of time forfeit.

Can anyone of you compile Barbarossa win32/x64 binaries
with an OS like Windows 7 or 8.1?


XP support has ended (April 8th, 2014)
and Vista will follow soon this year (April 11th, 2017)

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... fact-sheet

3) Aretar 1.0
http://www.mediafire.com/file/7qwsp6pkp ... Aretar.rar

Application cannot be launched due to an invalid side-by-side configuration e.g. https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... aa85e295dc

Best wishes,
Norbert

User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 3109
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by Guenther » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:09 pm

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote: 3) Aretar 1.0
http://www.mediafire.com/file/7qwsp6pkp ... Aretar.rar

Application cannot be launched due to an invalid side-by-side configuration e.g. https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... aa85e295dc

Best wishes,
Norbert
Thanks for the info. Aretar was released during my long hiatus of several years.
I noticed now that the original download link is also gone and not saved in the wayback archives.

Therefore I downloaded the file from your mediafire link.
I get the same error on my Win7 Ultimate 64 machine.
After generating a logfile with sxstrace as is recommended by MS for 'side by side' errors it appears that this Aretar 1.0 release
seems to be a debug release which refers to some debug libraries which are _not_ available with the MS distributions.

I wonder why it ever worked for some people (?), except having the same full VisualStudio installation, or there was at some time another compile available.
Here is a little thread in the WB forum where people state it does not work!
http://www.open-aurec.com/wbforum/viewt ... =2&t=52068

Here is an explanation for the exact same error shown in my sxstrace log:
https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forum ... =vcgeneral

May be I should remove it from the chronology?

styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by styx » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:14 pm

I tested LazyGull 0.3 in xboard (Linux) (Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690K)

The official Github binary works (but I think it is not the BMI2 Version)

Then I compiled both BMI2 and POPCNT versions myself and they both did not work.

I re-tested with the latest dev-snapshot and I got the same problems

User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by cdani » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:16 pm

Barbarossa compiled in a windows 7:

www.andscacs.com/barbarossa/barbarossa0.4.0.zip

User avatar
pedrox
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Basque Country (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by pedrox » Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:01 pm

I managed to make Aretar work thanks to the inbetween tool, with this the problem of illegal moves was solved in part, Aretar does not play according to time and it does it at a fixed depth, about 50% of the games lose them by illegal moves, not knowing empassant, to leave the king in check or to move it wrongly or to consider a piece of opponent as its own. It does not print the principal variant on Winboard (on Arena yes). Elo in finished games about 1100 or less.

User avatar
pedrox
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Basque Country (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by pedrox » Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:27 pm

Here Aretar 1.0 with inbetween:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/8ybk0x87f ... Aretar.zip

Exe for gui --> Aretar.exe

Configured to play depth 5. (aretar.ini)

User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 3109
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon
Contact:

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by Guenther » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:17 pm

pedrox wrote:Here Aretar 1.0 with inbetween:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/8ybk0x87f ... Aretar.zip

Exe for gui --> Aretar.exe

Configured to play depth 5. (aretar.ini)
Hi Pedro, the problems mentioned by me and Norbert have nothing to do with not moving or similar.
Actually your Aretar file is a completely different compile and therefore works, thanks.
I will upload it to the RWBC download site, as the original download site has
expired, if you agree.

nionita
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:47 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by nionita » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:40 pm

cdani wrote:Barbarossa compiled in a windows 7:

www.andscacs.com/barbarossa/barbarossa0.4.0.zip
Thanks Daniel!

Norbert, Graham, Ruxy: can you check if this Win 7 version works at normal speed? I suppose you all have Win 7 installed.

Thanks,
Nicu

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33236
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by Graham Banks » Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:21 pm

nionita wrote:
cdani wrote:Barbarossa compiled in a windows 7:

www.andscacs.com/barbarossa/barbarossa0.4.0.zip
Thanks Daniel!

Norbert, Graham, Ruxy: can you check if this Win 7 version works at normal speed? I suppose you all have Win 7 installed.

Thanks,
Nicu
Will do so shortly (later today) :)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
pedrox
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Basque Country (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Chess Engines with problems on different hard-/software

Post by pedrox » Sun Jan 29, 2017 11:03 pm

Guenther wrote:
pedrox wrote:Here Aretar 1.0 with inbetween:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/8ybk0x87f ... Aretar.zip

Exe for gui --> Aretar.exe

Configured to play depth 5. (aretar.ini)
Hi Pedro, the problems mentioned by me and Norbert have nothing to do with not moving or similar.
Actually your Aretar file is a completely different compile and therefore works, thanks.
I will upload it to the RWBC download site, as the original download site has
expired, if you agree.

Yes, you can, the exe file was created and distributed by the author.

Post Reply