Andscacs, developing version

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2105
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by cdani » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:10 pm

More bugs solved!
Please, download this new version.
Thanks to those who communicated the bugs!!

www.andscacs.com/andscacs087215.zip

Tdunbug
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:46 pm

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by Tdunbug » Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:59 pm

what is Fathom Syzygy?

tmokonen
Posts: 1084
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Vancouver

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by tmokonen » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:30 am

Tdunbug wrote:what is Fathom Syzygy?
Fathom is a stand-alone Syzygy tablebase probing tool. The aims of Fathom are:

- To make it easy to integrate the Syzygy tablebases into existing chess engines;
- To make it easy to create stand-alone applications that use the Syzygy tablebases;

https://github.com/basil00/Fathom

User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2105
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by cdani » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:05 am

Just to explain a little, Syzygy does not tolerate any illegal position as should be because is optimized for speed. And Andscacs was not filtering some ilegal moves coming for the hash, specially in SMP mode.
As it happens much less in single core (reproducible mode), I ended generating random moves to provoke all the possible crashes, to improve the legal move filtering function, like nonsense Pa2 to e2 and is an en passant capture.

leslies
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:04 pm

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by leslies » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:31 am

good engine i have been playing it against gull,seems to be = to it with contemp set at 10.I am using arena gui and the TB hits stillare not displayed during games? thank you again.

overlord
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:46 pm
Location: Trinec, Czech Republic

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by overlord » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:23 pm

I tried version 0.87222 at it stopped working in Fritz 14 GUI. The first game was lost on time and during next games engine didn´t start working when was out of book.

cc2150dx
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:51 am
Location: Canada

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by cc2150dx » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:48 pm

I'm using Arena 3.5.1 and the TB hits are showing correctly. Can you post a screenshot?
Komodo tester

cc2150dx
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:51 am
Location: Canada

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by cc2150dx » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:55 pm

overlord wrote:I tried version 0.87222 at it stopped working in Fritz 14 GUI. The first game was lost on time and during next games engine didn´t start working when was out of book.
Strange, I'm using Fritz 15 GUI with no issues.
Komodo tester

User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2105
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by cdani » Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:35 pm

Yes, a screenshot of Arena will be useful. Also I use it with Fritz 13 and seems to work well. Anyway I was able to make it crash one time more, so there is a bug somewhere. I'm trying to find it.

MikeB
Posts: 3828
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: Andscacs, developing version

Post by MikeB » Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:24 am

cdani wrote:More bugs solved!
Please, download this new version.
Thanks to those who communicated the bugs!!

www.andscacs.com/andscacs087215.zip
Any chance we can get a Mac version? Let me know if I can help.

Post Reply