new gui, new engine

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
Werner Taelemans
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:57 am
Location: Belgium
Full name: Werner Taelemans

new gui, new engine

Post by Werner Taelemans »

Hello,
I'm writing a chessprogram consisting of a gui and an engine. Most of the knowledge in the
program comes from this forum. So, thanks to everyone who posted here.

The gui is written in C++ and gtkmm.
It's developed on linux.
The protocol is xboard protocol, and the gui should work with any xboard-engine.
I tested only my own engine and fairymax though.
It's far from ready but I use it already for matches between my engine and fairymax.
Matches can be played with a *.pgn opening book.
At this moment there is no support for ICS and variants (yet).

My engine, called Galjoen, is written in standard C++11.
It can use a polyglot *.bin openingbook or play without a book.
The granularity of the timemanager is 1 second which means that 40 moves/min is about the fastest it can play.
Strength: it's weaker than fairymax.

The license for gui and engine is GPL. At this moment I have no binaries available...

See my signature for the website.
Best regards
User avatar
pocopito
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by pocopito »

FWIW: I was able to compile Galjoen on my linux system with no issues.

The GUIstarted nicely, but I wasn't able to play a game against the engine though. I tried a couple of times, and "top" showed a couple of Galjoen_eng processes, each of them using a 100% of a core, but no move from the GUI was made.
Two first meanings of the dutch word "leren":
1. leren [vc] (learn, larn, acquire) acquire or gain knowledge or skills.
2. leren [v] (teach, learn, instruct) impart skills or knowledge to.
stevenaaus
Posts: 608
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Australia

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by stevenaaus »

Hmmm. On fedora 14 i run into gtk include nightmares :(
After yum install gtkmm-devel, this header "include gtkmmconfig.h", but does not supply this file.

Probably it works on a later linux. So - screenshots ???
User avatar
Werner Taelemans
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:57 am
Location: Belgium
Full name: Werner Taelemans

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by Werner Taelemans »

thanks for trying!
I tried a couple of times, and "top" showed a couple of Galjoen_eng processes, each of them using a 100% of a core
I've seen that if you close the window without going true the menu files/quit, the engines aren't properly killed. I've put a new version (v0.23) on my website where this problem is solved.
but no move from the GUI was made
I couldn't reproduce this on my pc. Maybe the gui became irresponsive due to the previous problem?
Dann Corbit
Posts: 12540
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by Dann Corbit »

I built the engine on Windows 64 bit with MINGW gcc, but it exits into the background detached and runs at full tilt doing nothing.
User avatar
pocopito
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by pocopito »

I'll try to reproduce my steps with version 23:
1- Launch GaljoenChess
2- Engine -> Load Engine 1 -> Add absolute path to engine 1 "/home/emilio/soft/galjoen_v0.23/engine/Galjoen_eng" and click Ok
3- As the program is already in "human vs computer" I just play e2e4 and nothing happens (including that none of my cores go at 100%)

The analysis window shows nothing.

I've also tried with just "Galjoen_eng" in the load engine dialog.

If I try a match between engines (both GAljoen) the program crashes with this messages in the terminal:
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
what(): Master::pingpong infinite loop
Two first meanings of the dutch word "leren":
1. leren [vc] (learn, larn, acquire) acquire or gain knowledge or skills.
2. leren [v] (teach, learn, instruct) impart skills or knowledge to.
aturri
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by aturri »

Hello,

I have been able to compile the engine, but there is no makefile or similar to compile the GUI.

As a GUI, I guess there will be many libraries to link to, so could you tell me how to compile it, please?

(I will try it on a Fedora 21)
aturri
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by aturri »

Sorry, my mistake. There is only one makefile and it compiles both the engine and the GUI.

Damn, I had to RTFM! (./doc/INSTALL) :D
aturri
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:35 pm

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by aturri »

stevenaaus wrote:Hmmm. On fedora 14 i run into gtk include nightmares :(
After yum install gtkmm-devel, this header "include gtkmmconfig.h", but does not supply this file.

Probably it works on a later linux. So - screenshots ???
Wow, Fedora 14! Your Linux box is really old. You should upgrade/update it as Fedora does not support so old versions, so you are on risk due known vulnerabilities. Fedora is not an stable/durable distribution, you have to update it at least every 2 versions.

I have had no problems at all compiling with Fedora 21, just had to install the gtkmm30-devel package.

Here you have an screenshot:

Image

Edit: typos and insert image
User avatar
Werner Taelemans
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:57 am
Location: Belgium
Full name: Werner Taelemans

Re: new gui, new engine

Post by Werner Taelemans »

second try:
I removed a few bugs, installed Xubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit on one of my computers and
compiled with gcc-4.8.2.
This new version (0.24) runs fine on this computer.