How to compile Polyglot under Windows?

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 27789
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller

Re: How to compile Polyglot under Windows?

Post by hgm »

That cannot be true. I never work on the server, for me it is a remote repository too. I always push to and pull from the server, and it doesn't go through the web interface at all. Just through the git command-line interface. I would expect 'git clone' to always work, provided you give the proper URL of a directory that is under git.
KLc
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:46 am
Full name: Kurt Lanc

Re: How to compile Polyglot under Windows?

Post by KLc »

hgm wrote: Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:28 pm That cannot be true. I never work on the server, for me it is a remote repository too. I always push to and pull from the server, and it doesn't go through the web interface at all. Just through the git command-line interface. I would expect 'git clone' to always work, provided you give the proper URL of a directory that is under git.
Okay, I really don't know. I assume it's Gitweb, right? My only source of information on this is from here: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/201 ... rom-gitweb. And this sounds like I can't do it. On Github there's a bright green "Clone" button. I can't find anything like that on your website. I think in your personal Git repo you have an actual remote url to which you can push. You should be able to see this by running

Code: Select all

git remote show origin
The Gitweb interface just browses this repo.
User avatar
hgm
Posts: 27789
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller

Re: How to compile Polyglot under Windows?

Post by hgm »

No, GitWeb has nothing to do with it. GitWeb is just a user of a an existing git repository on the server. It is the on-line version of gitk, a GUI for browsing the repository. But the repository exists independently of it. If I had not installed GitWeb on that server, the repository would be just as functional for pushing or pulling commits, and I suppose also for cloning. Any git command on a remote machine should be able to do it. (Well, to push you would need a password.)

The URL is the one I already gave: hgm.nubati.net/git/polyglot.git .
KLc
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:46 am
Full name: Kurt Lanc

Re: How to compile Polyglot under Windows?

Post by KLc »

Ugh, OK. I got stuck at

Code: Select all

git clone https://hgm.nubati.net/git/polyglot.git
Cloning into 'polyglot'...
fatal: unable to access 'https://hgm.nubati.net/git/polyglot.git/': SSL certificate problem: self signed certificate
And thought, well it seems it's not supposed to be cloneable. But

Code: Select all

git clone http://hgm.nubati.net/git/polyglot.git
(i.e. without the "s" works). Sorry, I should have checked that earlier.