Reinforcement learning project

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

hgm
Full name: H G Muller

Reinforcement learning project

Post by hgm »

I am new to reinforcement learning, but I decide to give it a try. My plan is roughly this:

1) I will make a simple alpha-beta engine to play Janggi (Korean Chess), based on the move generator I have already written. (This currently exists as a CECP engine that moves randomly.)
2) I will give it a hand-crafted evaluation that takes all its parameters from an ini file (starting with piece values, PST, mobility).
3) I will equip it with a self-play command, which will write the position at the end of the PV of every move to a file.
4) I will have it play a huge number of super-fast games (e.g. a few thousand nodes per move). The first N moves (N=20?) will be played purely randomly, to guarantee game diversity and very unbalanced positions.
5) I will use these positions for Texel-tuning the evaluation.
6) I will then loop back to (4), using the tuned evaluation parameters.
7) When the evaluation parameters do not significantly change anymore, I am done tuning.
8) I will then play a few long-TC games, and have a Janggi expert comment on what strategic errors the engine makes. This should produce ideas for new evaluation terms to add, which would recognize the involved patterns.
9) With this extended evaluation, I then go back to (4), using the already optimized values for the old parameters, to see if beneficial weights for the new terms can be found.

I am curious what this will lead to!
Ferdy

Re: Reinforcement learning project

Post by Ferdy »

That is interesting. Looking forward on the outcome.
xr_a_y

Post by xr_a_y »

hgm wrote: Sun Jan 31, 2021 11:37 pm 4) I will have it play a huge number of super-fast games (e.g. a few thousand nodes per move). The first N moves (N=20?) will be played purely randomly, to guarantee game diversity and very unbalanced positions.