knodes/s halved after improving eval

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

SrcEngine
Full name: Luke Kong

knodes/s halved after improving eval

Post by SrcEngine »

I am new to chess programming. My engine used to run at 5000 knodes/s with a very simple eval. I've recently decided to improve the static evaluation functions. After adding no more than 100 lines of code, the engine is now only running at 2200knodes/s... Here is my updated EvalWhiteKnight function, which used to only evaluate based on a piecesquare table,

Code: Select all

int EvalWhiteKnight(const S_BOARD *pos)
{
	int pceNum;
	int index;
	int sq;
	int tempSq;
	int score=0;
//loop through all the knights
	for(pceNum = 0; pceNum < pos->pceNum[wN]; ++pceNum) {
		sq = pos->pList[wN][pceNum];
//knight mobility
		//loops through all the knight moves for the given knight
		for(index = 0; index < 8; ++index) {		
			tempSq = sq + KnDir[index];
			if(SqOnBoard(tempSq)) {
				//bonus if the piece controls one of the center squares
				if(tempSq == D4 || tempSq == D5 || tempSq==E4 || tempSq==E5)
				{
					score += knightCenterControl;		
				}
				//if the move is controlled by an enemy pawn, ignore the move 	
				if(pos->pieces[tempSq+11] != bP && pos->pieces[tempSq+9] != bP)
				//otherwise add mobility score to the knight
					score += knightMobility; 
			}
		}

//undefended minor piece penalty

if(!SqAttacked(sq,WHITE,pos))
			score += undefendedMinor;
//knight outpost using bitmasks
		 //the knight needs to be in the enemy half of the board
		if(RanksBrd[sq]>RANK_4)
		{
			//no opposing black pawns to push the knight away, and the knight is supported by a white pawn
			if((pos->pawns[BLACK] & WhiteOutpostMask[SQ64(sq)])==0 && 
			(pos->pieces[sq-9]==wP || pos->pieces[sq-11]==wP))
			{
				//add bonus to this knight for having an outpost
				score += outpost;
			}
		}
	}
	return score;
}