Your first chess program.

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Dan Honeycutt

Your first chess program.

Post by Dan Honeycutt »

Programmers,

How did you get into chess programming? What was your first program like?

In my case, the year was 1972. I was a graduate student at Georgia Tech. I had gotten into chess a few years before, inspired, like many of that era, by the ascent of Bobby Fisher. I figured it would be neat to write a chess program.

To run a program back then you typed each line of code on a punch card and carried your deck to ICS (Information and Computer Science). Your program then got a sliver of time on Tech's Burroughs B5500 mainframe. After a few minutes or hours depending on how busy they were, you got back your deck and output.

At least that's how it was for the unwashed masses. I had special privileges. I was on a research assistanceship doing work for the FAA. We were studying characteristics of flat cable. (Flat cable was sheets of conductors used in communications facilities which, today, would be a single fiber-optic cable.) Part of my work involved inverting large complex arrays. Complex as in R + jX, there was nothing complicated about it at all. I simply provided input to a canned program.

Now, the matrix inversion took time. Because of that I had a user number that allowed me long run times during the night hours. I also had access to teletype terminals in the EE department . The terminals had BASIC available and you could save your program on paper tape. None of this card deck misery for me!

With these advanced computing facilities available I set to work on my chess program. I had no idea what I was doing. I started with something like:

Code: Select all

10 DIM B(8,8)