When there is not progress

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Kempelen

When there is not progress

Post by Kempelen »

Hello,

This post is for ask a little of help. I have been improving Rodin for two years now. It has all major features a engine can have and I have arrived a point where new problems appear. First an introduction; these are the engines I am currently testing my engine with:

Code: Select all

Rank Name            Elo    +    - games score oppo. draws 
   1 Danasah        2481   41   39   200   67%  2362   21% 
   2 RomiChess P3K  2472   42   40   200   64%  2362   13% 
   3 Eeyore         2447   41   40   200   61%  2362   13% 
   4 ThorsHammer22  2418   41   40   200   57%  2362   11% 
   5 Bruja          2391   41   41   200   54%  2362    9% 
   6 Knightx192     2386   39   39   200   53%  2362   18% 
   7 Rodin v2.8b    2362   13   13  2200   51%  2349   14% 
   8 Dirty          2342   39   39   200   47%  2362   19% 
   9 Scidlet        2288   39   39   200   40%  2362   22% 
  10 ZCT            2282   40   41   200   40%  2362   13% 
  11 RattateChess   2229   41   43   200   34%  2362   11% 
  12 BlackBishop    2102   46   50   200   20%  2362    9% 
These are the result of my last test tournament, at 1 min 0 secs. My problem is mainly I have been testing new features for around two months in this format and I have never obtained any gain. What I have been measuring is things like futility margins, passed pawns bonus, king safety adjusments, ..... any tournament I test I get the same result: 51%/52%

I dont know how you deal when this happen to you. For me is quite desesperate and lead me to ask myselft questions like: Do I have any bug which hide good results?, Will those engines be suitable for testing my engine?, Does it means I need to change my testing schema?