Determining evaluation by a genetic algorithm

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

mvanthoor
Full name: Marcel Vanthoor

Determining evaluation by a genetic algorithm

Post by mvanthoor »

Because of all the posts about NNUE, evaluation and related things in the last few weeks, I was thinking about something. Basically, an evaluation term is a fixed or calculated number that is added to the base value (or subtracted if the number is negative).

We call such a number BISHOP_PAIR_BONUS, but it could have also been called X.

Would it be worthwhile to write a chess engine with an evaluation function that just adds.. say... 50 numbers to the base value (determined by material count)? In the beginning those numbers would be random between -50 and +50, and they could be tuned by a genetic algorithm.

I have little experience with neural networks, but enough experience with genetic algorithms to be able to write such a thing. I haven't put any research into this yet... so I may have been done already, and found to be sub-par when compared to something such as Texel tuning... any idea's about this?
Author of Rustic, an engine written in Rust.
Releases | Code | Docs | Progress | CCRL
mmt
Full name: .

Re: Determining evaluation by a genetic algorithm

Post by mmt »