Banksia GUI released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Jonathan003
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:23 pm
Full name: Jonathan Cremers

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by Jonathan003 » Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:15 pm

phhnguyen wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:28 pm
Jonathan003 wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:01 am
How comes the book making is so slow in Banksia with these settings: Image
It's from the big pgn file Elo 2500 gg.pgn with more than 700000 games I send you earlier.
For that setup, BSG may take almost all games and all moves and make internal memory grow too fast. BSG has some optimized algorithms for processing and using memory. However, it is not good for that kind of behavior. I will work on that issue later.
Jonathan003 wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:01 am

I also have a request. I would like to have the option uniform for book making.
In Lucas Chess there is an option to import all best moves from a bin book for one collar. If I can use the option uniform than all variations are imported. In Lucas Chess I can then export the Opening Lines to pgn.
It would also be nice to be able to merge books in pgn format so the one book has priority over the other like with bin book merging. But maybe that's technically impossible?
Thanks for your requests/suggestions. I have added them to my TODO list and may implement them soon.

For merging PGN books it is easy. Actually you can merge them manually because they all are text files. BSG can do a bit better since it can filter out all double openings. However, what you say "one book has priority over the other" won't work since PGN books have no weights thus all openings are totally equal in term of priorities.
I don't care about the book weights of a merged pgn book as I don't want to use the book for engine matches or to play against an engine.
I want to use the book merging option to filter out moves.

For example if I make a book only-white from a pgn with manually chosen opening lines and I merge this book with a book only-white from a big database with high quality games. Then the output would have only the white lines of the first book + white replies against the black moves if they are not in the first book.

Like described in following link under the title "Book Merging"

http://wbec-ridderkerk.nl/html/details1/PolyGlot.html

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Apr 09, 2020 1:33 am

MCDermont wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:13 pm
Hi
im new here and i have a question about the Banksia GUI
I have already tried a couple of times to copy a game into my bin book with the gui. ( Add current game to book )
But I can't find this line in my bin book afterwards.
I open Scid to look at the line but there is nothing :-((
I hope someone can help me .

thx in advance
MCDermont wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:37 pm
Hi all
second try to get a answere for my question
Thanks a lot for using BSG. Sorry for the delay. However, I always answer all requests/questions. Some questions may need a bit more time caused by my busy and/or their difficulties/requirements for some more checks.

Back to the issue. I can't reproduce the problem. Can you help to verify with step by step as below? I don't use (and not good at) Scid, thus I use BSG's tools.

1) Check the current Polyglot book
I open it via Opening Viewer/Editor as menu -> Tools -> Opening. Select an opening book. In my case, I open Fruit book. You can see opening lines in the form of a tree. There is an opening line with the first move f4, but not for second move e5 (Fig 1)

You may need to check the path of the book if it is similar to the one you use for playing (Settings -> Books/Egtb tab)

2) Add a game to book
I am using a game of Claudio vs Rene. From the move list (on "Moves" box) you can see the second move is e5.
I add that game to Fruit book via the button "Add current game into an opening book" pointed by the red arrow (Fig 1)
You should see the name of the book on the popup dialog or select from the first dropdown. Accept all other default values and click OK. If everything is OK, BSG will display a message box to inform that.

That is done.

3) Verify
Open the opening book again and open tree branches to check if there is a newly added branch. In my case, the new line/branch f4 e5 fxe5 has been added (Fig 2).

Thanks again.

Image
Fig 1: Opening tree before adding a game

Image
Fig 2: Opening tree after adding a game
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

MCDermont
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:26 am
Full name: Robert Söhnlein

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by MCDermont » Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:44 am

Hi all
second try to get a answere for my question
[/quote]

Thx for the detailed infos i checked again how you showed me and now all works fine
maybe something was wrong on my side when i had try it the first time
i did try again today and all works fine :-)
so on thx for help you did make a good new gui for all of us :-))

regards
Robert

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:35 pm

Rom77 wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:51 pm
phhnguyen wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:20 pm
The rounding of second is in purpose since the Windows time resolution is only about 18 ticks per second. If you think it should be higher I will change.
It would be very good, because in my tests I often use controls like 8+0.02

Probably the problem is not related to Windows. If, before starting the GUI, replace the file "banksiatour.json" with the same file with the value "increment": 0.02, then everything is ok. But unfortunately only once. After starting the GUI, the file "banksiatour.json" changes the value of the increment to "increment": 0.0.
I will update the code.
Laskos wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:13 pm
phhnguyen wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:20 pm

The rounding of second is in purpose since the Windows time resolution is only about 18 ticks per second. If you think it should be higher I will change.
First of all, an outstanding achievement, and that from a single person in such a short time! Hard to imagine. Thank you very much!

Now on this:
Isn't it about 100+ ticks per second? I am often seeing resolutions in the 0.010 seconds ballpark.
I would like also to have the possibility to set time control as 8.727s + 0.116s, even if the last digit is not that relevant (or not at all).

Thank you very much again!

I have just searched that for older version Windows ticks 64 times per second, for Win 10, 1kHz. Thus your numbers will be fine for Win10 and other OSs. I will update the BSG :)
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:36 pm

MCDermont wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:44 am
Thx for the detailed infos i checked again how you showed me and now all works fine
maybe something was wrong on my side when i had try it the first time
i did try again today and all works fine :-)
so on thx for help you did make a good new gui for all of us :-))

regards
Robert
Thanks again for your help and the confirm :D
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

MCDermont
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:26 am
Full name: Robert Söhnlein

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by MCDermont » Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:24 pm

now i have the next problem :-((
when i add manualy a edited game ( i deleted from a old game the moves and add a few new moves into the game and save
as in my pgn database ) i get the games but only about 5 plies but i need all edited moves here a link to the picture
https://we.tl/t-ealomNmozf

User avatar
Laskos
Posts: 10198
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:21 pm
Full name: Kai Laskos

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by Laskos » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:08 pm

phhnguyen wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:35 pm
Laskos wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:13 pm

First of all, an outstanding achievement, and that from a single person in such a short time! Hard to imagine. Thank you very much!

Now on this:
Isn't it about 100+ ticks per second? I am often seeing resolutions in the 0.010 seconds ballpark.
I would like also to have the possibility to set time control as 8.727s + 0.116s, even if the last digit is not that relevant (or not at all).

Thank you very much again!

I have just searched that for older version Windows ticks 64 times per second, for Win 10, 1kHz. Thus your numbers will be fine for Win10 and other OSs. I will update the BSG :)
Thanks a lot, sometimes hyper-fast times are important to me in experiments, and I do have Win 10.

Amazing project, and a single person developing it at an incredible pace!

MCDermont
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:26 am
Full name: Robert Söhnlein

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by MCDermont » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:35 pm

MCDermont wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:24 pm
now i have the next problem :-((
when i add manualy a edited game ( i deleted from a old game the moves and add a few new moves into the game and save
as in my pgn database ) i get the games but only about 5 plies but i need all edited moves here a link to the picture
https://we.tl/t-ealomNmozf

User avatar
phhnguyen
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Australia
Full name: Nguyen Hong Pham
Contact:

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by phhnguyen » Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:49 am

MCDermont wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:24 pm
now i have the next problem :-((
when i add manualy a edited game ( i deleted from a old game the moves and add a few new moves into the game and save
as in my pgn database ) i get the games but only about 5 plies but i need all edited moves here a link to the picture
https://we.tl/t-ealomNmozf
Can you copy the game (in the text form) and paste it here to check? Thanks
https://banksiagui.com
A freeware chess GUI, based on opensource Banksia - the chess tournament manager

MCDermont
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:26 am
Full name: Robert Söhnlein

Re: Banksia GUI released

Post by MCDermont » Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:42 am

Can you copy the game (in the text form) and paste it here to check? Thanks
Panosdj,Eman 3.60 64-bit PO (2465) - Balabachi,Eman XXX (2528) [D46]
Wertungspartie, 5 min Maschinenraum, 03.05.2019
[0.61;0.23]

Eman 3.60 64-bit POPCNT (7 threads): 35.9 plies; 8.508kN/s Intel(R) Core (TM) i7 CPU 960 î 3.20GHz 3706MHz, (4 cores, 8 threads), 4096 MB 1.d4 0.00/0 0 Sf6 0.01/0 11 2.c4 0.00/0 0 e6 0.01/0 0 3.Sf3 0.00/0 0 d5 0.01/0 0 4.Sc3 0.00/0 0 c6 0.01/0 0 5.e3 0.00/0 0 Sbd7 0.01/0 0 6.Dc2 0.00/0 0 Ld6 0.01/0 0 7.Ld3 0.00/0 0 0-0 0.01/0 0 8.0-0 0.00/0 0 dxc4 0.01/0 0 9.Lxc4 0.00/0 0 b5 0.01/0 0 10.Le2 0.00/0 0 Lb7 0.01/0 0 11.Td1 0.00/0 0 Dc7 0.01/0 0 12.e4 0.00/0 0 e5 0.01/0 0 13.dxe5 0.00/0 0 Sxe5 0.01/0 0 14.Sd4 0.00/0 0 Seg4 0.01/0 0 15.Lxg4 0.00/0 0 Lxh2+ 0.01/0 0 16.Kf1 0.00/0 0 Sxg4 0.01/0 0 17.g3 0.00/0 0 Lxg3 0.01/0 0 18.fxg3 0.61/28 8 De5 0.01/0 0 19.Sf5 0.47/27 12 b4 0.23/29 15 20.Lf4 0.38/31 0 Dc5 0.00/32 17 21.Ld6 0.60/31 0 La6+ 0.08/36 30 22.Ke1 0.66/35 5 Dg1+ 0.13/36 11 23.Kd2 0.60/34 0 Df2+ 0.11/35 12 24.Kc1 0.32/33 11 Dxc2+ 0.00/35 0 25.Kxc2 0.48/25 0 bxc3 0.00/36 4 26.Lxf8 0.60/35 22 cxb2 0.00/38 0 27.Kxb2 0.67/33 15 Kxf8 0.00/39 0 28.Td4 (Td7) 0.60/32 18 28...g6 0.20/34 12 29.Sd6 0.36/28 3 Se5 0.00/38 9 30.Kc3 0.53/31 0 Tb8 0.00/37 4 31.Ta4 (Tb4) 0.27/33 25 31...Tb6 0.00/34 5 32.Ta5 0.20/34 8 f6 0.08/35 2 33.Td1 0.17/32 0 Ke7 0.00/36 18 34.Td4 0.13/37 0 h5 0.00/34 2 35.Ta3 0.00/33 9 Sf3 0.02/37 0 36.Tda4 0.15/33 5 Kxd6 0.32/34 3 37.Txa6 0.52/35 39 Tb5 0.19/38 0 38.Txa7 0.18/33 15 Tg5 0.00/34 0 0-1

Panosdj2,Eman 3.60 64-bit PO (2465) - Balabachi,Eman XXX (2528) [D46]
Wertungspartie, 5 min Maschinenraum, 03.05.2019
[0.61;0.23]

Eman 3.60 64-bit POPCNT (7 threads): 35.9 plies; 8.508kN/s Intel(R) Core (TM) i7 CPU 960 î 3.20GHz 3706MHz, (4 cores, 8 threads), 4096 MB 1.d4 0.00/0 0 Sf6 0.01/0 11 2.c4 0.00/0 0 e6 0.01/0 0 3.Sf3 0.00/0 0 d5 0.01/0 0 4.Sc3 0.00/0 0 c6 0.01/0 0 5.e3 0.00/0 0 Sbd7 0.01/0 0 6.Dc2 0.00/0 0 Ld6 0.01/0 0 7.Ld3 0.00/0 0 0-0 0.01/0 0 8.0-0 0.00/0 0 dxc4 0.01/0 0 9.Lxc4 0.00/0 0 b5 0.01/0 0 10.Le2 0.00/0 0 Lb7 0.01/0 0 11.Td1 0.00/0 0 Dc7 0.01/0 0 12.e4 0.00/0 0 e5 0.01/0 0 13.dxe5 0.00/0 0 Sxe5 0.01/0 0 14.Sd4 0.00/0 0 Seg4 0.01/0 0 15.Lxg4 0.00/0 0 Lxh2+ 0.01/0 0 16.Kf1 0.00/0 0 Sxg4 0.01/0 0 17.g3 0.00/0 0 Lxg3 0.01/0 0 18.fxg3 De5 19.Sf5 b4 20.Lf4 Dc5 21.Ld6 La6+ 22.Ke1 Dg1+ 23.Kd2 Dg2+ 24.Kc1 Dxc2+ 25.Kxc2 bxc3 26.Lxf8 cxb2 27.Kxb2 Kxf8 28.Td4 g6 29.Sd6 Tb8+ 30.Kc3 Se5 31.Ta4 Tb6 32.Td1 Ke7 33.Ta5 f6 34.Td4 h5 35.Ta3 Sf3 36.Tda4 Kxd6 37.Txa6 Tb5 38.Txa7 Tg5 0-1

Post Reply