Page 1 of 7

Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:54 pm
by Daniel Shawul
Hi,

Scorpio 3.0 is released. This is the version that is currently participating in tcec with some time management bug fixes.

I recommend you use the installer scripts. For windows, download and place intsall.bat where you want Scorpio installed and then
double-clik or execute it from command line. That should download and install the packages automatically.

regards,
Daniel

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:25 am
by Graham Banks
Thanks Daniel. :)

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:30 am
by camava
Daniel Shawul wrote:
Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:54 pm
Hi,

Scorpio 3.0 is released. This is the version that is currently participating in tcec with some time management bug fixes.

I recommend you use the installer scripts. For windows, download and place intsall.bat where you want Scorpio installed and then
double-clik or execute it from command line. That should download and install the packages automatically.

regards,
Daniel
Hi.can you tell me how can i install Scorpio in android?
Thank you very much

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:51 am
by Daniel Shawul
The neural network version currently does not work with Android. Should be possible though with tensorflow-lite ...
You can install the binary provided in the Android/ folder and make it use standard alpha-beta search.
Better yet use my android app that has Scorpio, and many chess variants. The app is here

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 6:37 am
by pohl4711
I would like to do a testrun of Scorpio 3 for my NN-testings:

https://www.sp-cc.de/lc0-testing.htm

Because, I use the LittleBlitzerGUI for testing, I need to use the wb2uci-adpater. Could you post (or PM) the wb2uci.eng textfile with the correct settings for Scorpio to run with best performance on a RTX 2060 GPU ?!?

Thanx in advance - Stefan (SPCC)

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:02 am
by Daniel Shawul
Hi Stefan,

Thanks for your interest in testing Scorpio.

I have added a Wb2Uci support for windows in the package now. All you have to do is use scorpio-uci.bat instead of scorpio.bat. Tested this under Arena and a CPU machine and it works. The configs are straightforward as shown in the Wb2Uci files in the package.

I recommend the following steps for installation:

1) Download install.bat, and move it to a directory you want scorpio installed.

2) Run it from the command line (preferable) or double-click it and it will download, install and configure scorpio.ini. This will generate a scorpio folder with the current date (Scorpio-mm-yyyy). During installation, it will make two test runs with "delay 0" and "delay 1" in the end. See which one gets the higher pps value for you, default is delay 0 but delay 1 could be sometimes better when you have few cores. Change the value in bin/Windows/scorpio.ini if delay=1 happens to be better.

3) Install scorpio-uci.bat in Arena or other GUI

For RTX GPUs I recommend you use INT8 instead, which will give a 2.5x speedup bump. Once you make sure the installation is working do the following steps to get INT8 working

4) Go to bin/Windows directory from the command line and run the following

Code: Select all

scorpio.bat runinpnn calibrate.epd calibrate.dat quit
This will do INT8 calibration and generate a calibration file about 1.4G in size
5) Then run

Code: Select all

scorpio.bat go quit
The first time you run it, it might take upto 2 minutes to load the NN so be patient. The next runs will only take a couple of seconds
to load the neural network. If everything works out, you should see an increase of 2.5x speedup or more. The values that matter is the pps/nneps
not the nps value.

I am happy to help if you have issues with it, been doing that for everyone who ever tested it infact, so post here or PM me

regards,
Daniel

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:09 am
by Dokterchen
Hi Daniel,

thanks for your new release! :-)

I have tested it on my WIN10 4 core machine with a GTX 2070. The install.bat works very well, all paths and parameters in the ini file are fine and everythinbg works as expected. Also the change to INT8 works well:

Code: Select all

HALF and delay=0
# nodes = 2003616 <0% qnodes> time = 10641ms nps = 188292 eps = 0 nneps = 19990

INT8 and delay=0
# nodes = 2587105 <0% qnodes> time = 9172ms nps = 282065 eps = 0 nneps = 28796
I did my tests before your answer to Stefan. In your answer to Stefan this step is missing.:
Once that is done change the "float_type" to "INT8" in scorpio.ini and run scorpio one more time:

scorpio.bat float_type INT8 go quit
Is this not necessary anymore?

KR
Torsten

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:32 pm
by ChickenLogic
Hi,

I really appreciate your work! I'd need some help to get it running though.
I do have a 980TI so I'll have to use FLOAT but that's ok. When trying to run Scorpio I get this:
2019-08-17 17_27_40-C__WINDOWS_system32_cmd.exe.png
2019-08-17 17_27_40-C__WINDOWS_system32_cmd.exe.png (7.09 KiB) Viewed 2728 times


On my system I've got Cuda 10 installed so I don't need the same dlls for Allie and Lc0 etc.
To install Scorpio I just used the .bat file.

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:33 pm
by Daniel Shawul
Dokterchen wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:09 am
Hi Daniel,

thanks for your new release! :-)

I have tested it on my WIN10 4 core machine with a GTX 2070. The install.bat works very well, all paths and parameters in the ini file are fine and everythinbg works as expected. Also the change to INT8 works well:

Code: Select all

HALF and delay=0
# nodes = 2003616 <0% qnodes> time = 10641ms nps = 188292 eps = 0 nneps = 19990

INT8 and delay=0
# nodes = 2587105 <0% qnodes> time = 9172ms nps = 282065 eps = 0 nneps = 28796
I did my tests before your answer to Stefan. In your answer to Stefan this step is missing.:
Once that is done change the "float_type" to "INT8" in scorpio.ini and run scorpio one more time:

scorpio.bat float_type INT8 go quit
Is this not necessary anymore?

KR
Torsten
Hi Torsten,

Indeed that is necessary, I forgot about it!

I have now put up a document for the installation steps with an example on a Linux GPU machine. If someone could follow similar instruction on a Windows machine from the command line, I would be happy to include the example run in the document.

Btw, you get really good speedup even using HALF precision while is like 2x slower for reasons I don't understand yet.
I suspect it is in the way TensorRT optimizes the network because i sometimes get a 2x speedup with FP16.

reards,
Daniel

Re: Scorpio 3.0

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:42 pm
by Daniel Shawul
ChickenLogic wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:32 pm
Hi,

I really appreciate your work! I'd need some help to get it running though.
I do have a 980TI so I'll have to use FLOAT but that's ok. When trying to run Scorpio I get this:
2019-08-17 17_27_40-C__WINDOWS_system32_cmd.exe.png

On my system I've got Cuda 10 installed so I don't need the same dlls for Allie and Lc0 etc.
To install Scorpio I just used the .bat file.
Hi,

Scorpio comes with the versions of cuda, tensorrt, cudnn that it needs so it doesn't use the system installed ones.
I suspect the problem could be due to a mixup of dlls (you probably have the cuda path in your Path environement variable) and
scorpio.bat also sets the cuda path to its own local directory, so that could cause a problem...

Could you try editing the scropio.bat file as follow

Code: Select all

set PATH=%PATH%;%LN%
to

Code: Select all

set PATH=%LN%;%PATH%
That is put the system path after the local path. Let me know if that works so that I can update the file.

Btw, most nvidia GPUs that don't support FP16 actually support INT8 so you might get a 4x speedup by using that than FLOAT.

Edit Unfortunately the gtx 980 ti does not seem to support INT8 but >= 10xx series should.

Thanks
Daniel