Polyglot question.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 6991
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:04 pm

Polyglot question.

Post by Rebel »

I am using: PolyGlot 1.4.30b by Fabien Letouzey with the ini-file

Code: Select all

[PolyGlot]

EngineDir = C:\mea
EngineCommand = fruit21.exe

[Engine]

option name History Threshold type spin default 15 min 0 max 100
option name King Safety type spin default 15 min 0 max 400
option name Passed Pawns type spin default 15 min 0 max 400
Trying to see if those changes work by crippling Fruit's playing strength considerable but it plays as strong as ever.

Next try:

Code: Select all

[PolyGlot]

EngineDir = C:\mea
EngineCommand = fruit21.exe

[Engine]

setoption name History Threshold value 15
setoption name King Safety value 15
setoption name Passed Pawns value 15
Same result, no change.

Tried to find other Polyglot versions on the net but wasn't successful.

What solution?
90% of coding is debugging, the other 10% is writing bugs.
Colin-G
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: England

Re: Polyglot question.

Post by Colin-G »

Your [Engine] section is in the wrong format.

Try this after the line containing [Engine]

Code: Select all

 History = 15
 King Safety = 15
 Passed Pawns = 15
User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 4605
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon

Re: Polyglot question.

Post by Guenther »

Rebel wrote: Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:20 am I am using: PolyGlot 1.4.30b by Fabien Letouzey with the ini-file

Code: Select all

[PolyGlot]

EngineDir = C:\mea
EngineCommand = fruit21.exe

[Engine]

option name History Threshold type spin default 15 min 0 max 100
option name King Safety type spin default 15 min 0 max 400
option name Passed Pawns type spin default 15 min 0 max 400
Trying to see if those changes work by crippling Fruit's playing strength considerable but it plays as strong as ever.

Next try:

Code: Select all

[PolyGlot]

EngineDir = C:\mea
EngineCommand = fruit21.exe

[Engine]

setoption name History Threshold value 15
setoption name King Safety value 15
setoption name Passed Pawns value 15
Same result, no change.

Tried to find other Polyglot versions on the net but wasn't successful.

What solution?
The latest one from 2016 is 2.03 which is still available at HGMs site:
http://hgm.nubati.net/polyglot.exe

Anyhow your syntax for the engine section is wrong.
For your example it should be:
(I suggest adding a log too in the polyglot section at least until
you have figured out, if all your changes are really sent)

Code: Select all

[PolyGlot]

Log=true
LogFile=blabla.log

Code: Select all

[Engine]

History Threshold = 15
King Safety = 15
Passed Pawns = 15
BTW I suggest to fiddle around with 'Piece Activity' for crippling its strength.
https://rwbc-chess.de

trollwatch:
Chessqueen + chessica + AlexChess + Eduard + Sylwy
Colin-G
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: England

Re: Polyglot question.

Post by Colin-G »

How did you get the square brackets to appear in your "code" section?
What did you use to escape them.
I was unable to include [Engine] in the code section in my earlier post.
User avatar
Guenther
Posts: 4605
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:33 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Full name: Guenther Simon

Re: Polyglot question.

Post by Guenther »

Colin-G wrote: Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:16 pm How did you get the square brackets to appear in your "code" section?
What did you use to escape them.
I was unable to include [Engine] in the code section in my earlier post.
Colin, I did nothing special. This means either we have a different setting
in our phpbb user profile or we both have a different encoding in our browsers
and yours hits one of those mysterious encoding problems, which exist
in this board for quite a while - already before the transition)
https://rwbc-chess.de

trollwatch:
Chessqueen + chessica + AlexChess + Eduard + Sylwy
User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 6991
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: Polyglot question.

Post by Rebel »

Colin-G wrote: Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:56 am Your [Engine] section is in the wrong format.

Try this after the line containing [Engine]

Code: Select all

 History = 15
 King Safety = 15
 Passed Pawns = 15
It was that simple. Thanks.
90% of coding is debugging, the other 10% is writing bugs.