Page 4 of 6

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:45 am
by nabildanial
Dann Corbit wrote:
smatovic wrote:
Is there a command line flag or something to tell it to use the GPU?

Code: Select all

  --gpu arg                    ID of the OpenCL device(s) to use (disables 
                               autodetection).
You can run lc0 with --tune-only,
that will output a list of your OpenCL devices with OpenCL IDs,
then you can select the device with --gpu arg and run --tune-only and --full-tuner,
that will try a thousands of configuration options and create a config file for your device.

e.g.

Code: Select all

lczero --tune-only
lczero --gpu 0 --tune-only --full-tuner

--
Srdja
The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
It should generate a file named "leelaz_opencl_tuning" on the same directory with the best tuning config saved in there.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:51 am
by Dann Corbit
I think it is still only using the CPU.
When I tried the end-around method I found in the post, it simply crashed.

I won't buy any more AMD cards unless a miracle happens.
This is the kind of thing that really saws me off.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:42 am
by smatovic
The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)
Yep, it is probably using the cpu.
How do I start up with those settings?
The file can contain settings for multiple devices,
if you have only one device, then you don't have to bother,
otherwise you can use "--gpu arg" when you call lczero.exe.

--
Srdja

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:49 am
by smatovic
I think it is still only using the CPU.
When I tried the end-around method I found in the post, it simply crashed.

I won't buy any more AMD cards unless a miracle happens.
This is the kind of thing that really saws me off.
Maybe you can switch to the old driver which had working OpenCL support?

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... ows+7+-+64

Did you try the Catalyst driver from 2015?

Maybe they just screwed up the beta one.

*edit*

Here some older drivers, maybe version 13.12 WHQL will work..

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... 7%20-%2064

--
Srdja

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:05 am
by Dann Corbit
smatovic wrote:
I think it is still only using the CPU.
When I tried the end-around method I found in the post, it simply crashed.

I won't buy any more AMD cards unless a miracle happens.
This is the kind of thing that really saws me off.
Maybe you can switch to the old driver which had working OpenCL support?

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... ows+7+-+64

Did you try the Catalyst driver from 2015?

Maybe they just screwed up the beta one.

*edit*

Here some older drivers, maybe version 13.12 WHQL will work..

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... 7%20-%2064

--
Srdja
I am trying this solution and I hope that it works.
You might imagine I will be pleased if it works, and I will be.
But it is time for my foot-stomping, foaming at the mouth tirade.

This forum, of course, is not appropriate for such a thing.

But if anyone wants to see me go off half-cocked and hair-afire, head over to CTF.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:44 am
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Dann Corbit wrote: The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
They're saved in the leelaz_opencl_tuning file and remembered.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:48 am
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
duncan wrote: but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?
I read this question several times but it still makes no sense. What are you comparing? The programs don't even play the same game, and I can confirm that Leela Zero is infinitely worse at chess than Leela Chess Zero is.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:56 am
by duncan
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
duncan wrote: but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?
I read this question several times but it still makes no sense. What are you even comparing? The programs don't even play the same game!
Probably makes little sense as I know little about either game. I was attempting to compare elo gains from leela zero to lczero.
lczero gets about 30 per day. do you know how many leela zero gets a day.?

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:00 pm
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
duncan wrote: Probably makes little sense as I know little about either game. I was attempting to compare elo gains from leela zero to lczero.
lczero gets about 30 per day. do you know how many leela zero gets a day.?
10600 Elo gained in about 160 days would be about 66.

But I don't think such a comparison makes much sense.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:00 pm
by Dann Corbit
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote: The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
They're saved in the leelaz_opencl_tuning file and remembered.
All for naught, it is clear to me that my GPU is not being used.
The end-around I found on the net failed, and my back-off to an older driver is hung for an hour now.

I guess it is time to buy a nice Nvidia card.