LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
nabildanial
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:29 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by nabildanial » Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:45 am

Dann Corbit wrote:
smatovic wrote:
Is there a command line flag or something to tell it to use the GPU?

Code: Select all

  --gpu arg                    ID of the OpenCL device(s) to use (disables 
                               autodetection).
You can run lc0 with --tune-only,
that will output a list of your OpenCL devices with OpenCL IDs,
then you can select the device with --gpu arg and run --tune-only and --full-tuner,
that will try a thousands of configuration options and create a config file for your device.

e.g.

Code: Select all

lczero --tune-only
lczero --gpu 0 --tune-only --full-tuner

--
Srdja
The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
It should generate a file named "leelaz_opencl_tuning" on the same directory with the best tuning config saved in there.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10112
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:51 am

I think it is still only using the CPU.
When I tried the end-around method I found in the post, it simply crashed.

I won't buy any more AMD cards unless a miracle happens.
This is the kind of thing that really saws me off.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

smatovic
Posts: 907
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by smatovic » Wed Apr 25, 2018 6:42 am

The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)
Yep, it is probably using the cpu.
How do I start up with those settings?
The file can contain settings for multiple devices,
if you have only one device, then you don't have to bother,
otherwise you can use "--gpu arg" when you call lczero.exe.

--
Srdja

smatovic
Posts: 907
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by smatovic » Wed Apr 25, 2018 6:49 am

I think it is still only using the CPU.
When I tried the end-around method I found in the post, it simply crashed.

I won't buy any more AMD cards unless a miracle happens.
This is the kind of thing that really saws me off.
Maybe you can switch to the old driver which had working OpenCL support?

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... ows+7+-+64

Did you try the Catalyst driver from 2015?

Maybe they just screwed up the beta one.

*edit*

Here some older drivers, maybe version 13.12 WHQL will work..

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... 7%20-%2064

--
Srdja

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10112
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:05 am

smatovic wrote:
I think it is still only using the CPU.
When I tried the end-around method I found in the post, it simply crashed.

I won't buy any more AMD cards unless a miracle happens.
This is the kind of thing that really saws me off.
Maybe you can switch to the old driver which had working OpenCL support?

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... ows+7+-+64

Did you try the Catalyst driver from 2015?

Maybe they just screwed up the beta one.

*edit*

Here some older drivers, maybe version 13.12 WHQL will work..

https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... 7%20-%2064

--
Srdja
I am trying this solution and I hope that it works.
You might imagine I will be pleased if it works, and I will be.
But it is time for my foot-stomping, foaming at the mouth tirade.

This forum, of course, is not appropriate for such a thing.

But if anyone wants to see me go off half-cocked and hair-afire, head over to CTF.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:44 am

Dann Corbit wrote: The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
They're saved in the leelaz_opencl_tuning file and remembered.

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:48 am

duncan wrote: but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?
I read this question several times but it still makes no sense. What are you comparing? The programs don't even play the same game, and I can confirm that Leela Zero is infinitely worse at chess than Leela Chess Zero is.

duncan
Posts: 10326
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:50 pm

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by duncan » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:56 am

Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
duncan wrote: but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?
I read this question several times but it still makes no sense. What are you even comparing? The programs don't even play the same game!
Probably makes little sense as I know little about either game. I was attempting to compare elo gains from leela zero to lczero.
lczero gets about 30 per day. do you know how many leela zero gets a day.?

Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Gian-Carlo Pascutto » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:00 am

duncan wrote: Probably makes little sense as I know little about either game. I was attempting to compare elo gains from leela zero to lczero.
lczero gets about 30 per day. do you know how many leela zero gets a day.?
10600 Elo gained in about 160 days would be about 66.

But I don't think such a comparison makes much sense.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10112
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Post by Dann Corbit » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:00 am

Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote: The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?
They're saved in the leelaz_opencl_tuning file and remembered.
All for naught, it is clear to me that my GPU is not being used.
The end-around I found on the net failed, and my back-off to an older driver is hung for an hour now.

I guess it is time to buy a nice Nvidia card.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Post Reply