Page 3 of 6

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:31 pm
by Dann Corbit
I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:33 pm
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:34 pm
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Jhoravi wrote: While running in GPU does LCZero use the GPU memory too or just the system RAM?
Leela needs the GPU memory to store the network input, weights and intermediate results. But this isn't all that much memory - a few hundred MB.

The system RAM is used to store the search tree and result cache.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:35 pm
by Dann Corbit
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.
AMD Radeon 6950.
2 TFlops

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:15 pm
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Dann Corbit wrote: AMD Radeon 6950.
2 TFlops
It appears due to a gross oversight on AMD's end, OpenCL support is missing from the final drivers for these cards: https://community.amd.com/thread/192320

This would explain why it's not being detected.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:48 pm
by Dann Corbit
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote: AMD Radeon 6950.
2 TFlops
It appears due to a gross oversight on AMD's end, OpenCL support is missing from the final drivers for these cards: https://community.amd.com/thread/192320

This would explain why it's not being detected.
I was installing OpenCL 2.0 drivers when I left this morning. If it turns out that the install does not work, I found an end-around:
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/non-g ... ost5277469

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:50 pm
by Dann Corbit
Some AMD guy said it is not a defect and it is not an oversight. The cards are no longer supported.

The cards used to work on OpenCL. They sent an update that broke it.

No wonder Nvidia takes these guys out behind the woodshed and beats the stuffings out of them.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:54 pm
by duncan
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.
https://github.com/gcp/leela-zero

great contribution that you are making. thanks.
but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:59 am
by Leto
duncan wrote:
Gian-Carlo Pascutto wrote:
Dann Corbit wrote:I think my OpenCL driver may have been too old.
I am installing the 2.0 driver now.
Dann, what GPU do you actually have?

For NVIDIA and AMD cards the OpenCL support is included in the regular video driver. If you only have a built-in Intel GPU (which is inside the CPU), it is better to use the CPU directly.
https://github.com/gcp/leela-zero

great contribution that you are making. thanks.
but may I ask why your program does not seem to be making as much rapid progress as lczero. do you have less people running it.?
The Deepmind team had access to much superior hardware.

Re: LCZero is using my cores, not my GPU.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:41 am
by Dann Corbit
smatovic wrote:
Is there a command line flag or something to tell it to use the GPU?

Code: Select all

  --gpu arg                    ID of the OpenCL device(s) to use (disables 
                               autodetection).
You can run lc0 with --tune-only,
that will output a list of your OpenCL devices with OpenCL IDs,
then you can select the device with --gpu arg and run --tune-only and --full-tuner,
that will try a thousands of configuration options and create a config file for your device.

e.g.

Code: Select all

lczero --tune-only
lczero --gpu 0 --tune-only --full-tuner

--
Srdja
The last line of the report was this:
(1269/5310) KWG=32 KWI=2 MDIMA=8 MDIMC=8 MWG=64 NDIMB=8 NDIMC=8 NWG=16 SA=0 SB=0 STRM=1 STRN=1 VWM=8 VWN=2 0.7962 ms (10.5 GFLOPS)

How do I start up with those settings?