EXchess v7.96

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
dchoman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: United States

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by dchoman » Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:50 pm

Modern Times wrote:
Yes works in console mode on my FX8350, and on my X6 1090T as well.
Thanks!

dchoman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: United States

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by dchoman » Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:51 pm

Graham Banks wrote:Runs okay under ChessGUI on my i5.
Thanks for the test!

dchoman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: United States

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by dchoman » Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:52 pm

JVMerlino wrote:I have a 7-year old AMD 9650 Quad, and it works fine. On the initial position in analysis mode it reaches depth 21 in 20 seconds at one core and depth 23 at four cores.

jm
Thanks for the report!

attakinski
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:23 am

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by attakinski » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:08 pm

Yes, Dan ARENA uses Wb2Uci as well.

Just to be sure I copied your Wb2Uci.eng. But with no success.

For me the strange thing is that all Exchesses work fine on my PC. But not the last 2. It is puzzling me.
Not being an expert on winboard, nevertheless I succeeded to get hundreds of winboard programs playing with CB GUI. Wildcat, Scorpio, Chessmaster and so on.

Colin-G
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:30 pm
Location: England

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by Colin-G » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:16 pm

I have tested the supplied Windows versions without problems.
The 32bit version works ok including tablebases on an old AMD 1.8GHz Duron in Arena on Windows XP, and also on an old 2.9GHz Pentium 4 in Arena on linux Mint 17 32bit using wine.
The 64bit version worked ok including tablebases with an AMD Athlon 7550 cpu in Arena using Windows 10, and also on an AMD A4-5300 cpu in Arena on linux Mint 17 64bit using wine.

I also successfully compiled 32 and 64 bit native linux executables with tablebase support ok.
(I eventually found some tbindex and tbdecode source code files dating from 2003 that were in an old Scid src folder and they worked ok)
The 32bit compiled ok on the above Pentium 4 computer and the 64 bit was made on the AMD one.

Thanks Dan
I look forward to playing some matches with this new version.

Gregory Owett
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:26 am
Location: France

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by Gregory Owett » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:32 pm

I deleted the search.par file, which I modified before, and now it runs under Arena. :P

attakinski
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:23 am

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by attakinski » Thu Feb 02, 2017 8:01 pm

Did so as well. Now it runs under CB GUI, but only on 1 CPu with 1 MB for hash.

dchoman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: United States

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by dchoman » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:41 am

Colin-G wrote:I have tested the supplied Windows versions without problems.
The 32bit version works ok including tablebases on an old AMD 1.8GHz Duron in Arena on Windows XP, and also on an old 2.9GHz Pentium 4 in Arena on linux Mint 17 32bit using wine.
The 64bit version worked ok including tablebases with an AMD Athlon 7550 cpu in Arena using Windows 10, and also on an AMD A4-5300 cpu in Arena on linux Mint 17 64bit using wine.

I also successfully compiled 32 and 64 bit native linux executables with tablebase support ok.
(I eventually found some tbindex and tbdecode source code files dating from 2003 that were in an old Scid src folder and they worked ok)
The 32bit compiled ok on the above Pentium 4 computer and the 64 bit was made on the AMD one.

Thanks Dan
I look forward to playing some matches with this new version.
Good to hear, Thanks!

dchoman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: United States

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by dchoman » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:42 am

Gregory Owett wrote:I deleted the search.par file, which I modified before, and now it runs under Arena. :P
OK, that makes sense. Thanks for thinking to try this!

dchoman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:44 pm
Location: United States

Re: EXchess v7.96

Post by dchoman » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:45 am

attakinski wrote:Did so as well. Now it runs under CB GUI, but only on 1 CPu with 1 MB for hash.
That is good to hear. Now that I think about it, the search.par file has been modified occasionally from one version to the next, and I suppose there could be an incompatibility between an older search.par and a newer EXchess. If you use the search.par that was included with the latest version, that should solve the problem, I hope. Thanks for letting me know!

Post Reply