Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by ilari » Sat Sep 03, 2016 10:10 am

Evert wrote:You should forfeit engines that claim an "Illegal move" if you're sure you'll never send one of those.
That's very sensible, I'll write an issue about this.

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by ilari » Sat Sep 03, 2016 10:19 am

Ferdy wrote:
ilari wrote:
Ferdy wrote:I am running a KO tour, seeding 3 engines out of 6 engines.

The scoring shown by cutechess seems to be not right, instead of a (3-0) for example, it displays (6-0), doubling the score.
Was "games per encounter" set to 3? Hopefully this will be an easy fix.
Per encounter is 4. The termination is consistent, the first engine to reach 3 points won.
This (double score) is now fixed in the master branch. In Knockout tournaments the encounter is over when one player cannot catch the other one anymore, so 2.5 points is enough to win a 4-game encounter. And the encounter will also be extended if the players are tied at 2-all.

Ferdy
Posts: 4111
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by Ferdy » Sat Sep 03, 2016 11:18 am

ilari wrote:
ilari wrote:
Ferdy wrote:Still does not work. Same message display.
There seem to be several missing dependencies, but I just found the very helpful "windeployqt" tool which bundles the dependencies for me. I'll update the Windows installer tomorrow morning.
I was able to reproduce the problem. I've updated the Windows installer again. Now it installs qwindows.dll in the right place, which should fix the issue.
When creating a game playing as black against an engine, set the black pieces at the bottom of the 2d board, even if there is available flip board command.

styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by styx » Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:38 pm

I really like the design and the whole approach. But to be my first GUI choice, there are some more- or less important features missing:

- possibility to turn board coordinates on/off
- possibility to turn captured pieces on/off
- possibility to turn off auto-flag when playing a computer
- maybe allow different time controls for black/white
- would be nice if I could choose between some different piece sets and board colors (but I like the choices you made though)
- maybe a possibility to enter/edit move comments
- possibility to enter move variations

apart from that, it's very neat looking. really great work!

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Sat Sep 03, 2016 1:39 pm

ilari wrote:Which problem? Ferdy has found multiple bugs already.
The problem is described here. Please take a look here http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 46&t=61308

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Cute Chess 0.9.1 released

Post by ilari » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:12 pm

Thanks to everyone for being willing to beta-test Cute Chess. I've now fixed the major bugs that were found and released version 0.9.1: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... /gui-0.9.1

There will most likely be more bugs, but at this point it's best to release fixes quickly so that's what I'm doing.

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by ilari » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:13 pm

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
ilari wrote:Which problem? Ferdy has found multiple bugs already.
The problem is described here. Please take a look here http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 46&t=61308
Yes, the dependency bug is fixed in Cute Chess 0.9.1 installer.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:21 pm

ilari wrote:Yes, the dependency bug is fixed in Cute Chess 0.9.1 installer.
Please share this installer.

User avatar
ilari
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by ilari » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:26 pm

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
ilari wrote:Yes, the dependency bug is fixed in Cute Chess 0.9.1 installer.
Please share this installer.
It's in the "Downloads" section here: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... /gui-0.9.1

Direct link: https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... _setup.exe

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Cute Chess 0.9.0 (GUI) released

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:11 pm

Thank you very much. I have a question what to do to show that the program uses tablebase Gaviota, Nalimova, Syzygy.

Post Reply