Komodo 9 Announcement

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, bob, hgm

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
mjlef
Posts: 1454
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by mjlef » Tue Apr 28, 2015 4:42 pm

Sorry, but we do not have an update for the opening book.

User avatar
RJN
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:18 am
Location: Orion Spiral Arm

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by RJN » Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:04 pm

mjlef wrote:Rob, we can look at this. I checked and Komodo does not clear the Hash when it gets a ucinewgame command. I think some earlier AArena version resend the Hash size to the engine everytime you close the engine settings dialog. And resizing the Hash (even the same size) does clear the Hash Table. But I think it is fixed in 3.5.

You can try using Arena 3.5. Hash is no longer in then Config screen by default. You have to access it via Engine Management - UCI where it is set under Common Hash Size. So as long as that option is checked, no hash clearing will happen when people just change some other parameter.

Which Arena do you have? They seem to have moved a few things like Hash and Threads to the Engine Management - UCI menu, although you can turn them off there and make them reappear in the Engine Configure dialog.
Mark, I am using Arena 3.5, but not using the common hash size setting. Maybe that is the problem for me.

I'm a bit busy, but will report back with more details when I get a chance to try using that option. However, it would then force all engine instances to use the same hash size, and I prefer to have multiple instances with various different engine options. Also, I had some bad experiences with the common hash option under Arena 3.0, when it would sometimes actually ignore it and go to the engine default. Since then I have been in the habit of not using common hash size setting.

Maybe a "never clear hash" is possible in the future, to guarantee the situation in all cases?

Thanks for the speedy reply, and congrats on another great version of Komodo.

shrapnel
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:43 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by shrapnel » Wed Apr 29, 2015 4:45 am

RJN wrote:
mjlef wrote:Rob, we can look at this. I checked and Komodo does not clear the Hash when it gets a ucinewgame command. I think some earlier AArena version resend the Hash size to the engine everytime you close the engine settings dialog. And resizing the Hash (even the same size) does clear the Hash Table. But I think it is fixed in 3.5.

You can try using Arena 3.5. Hash is no longer in then Config screen by default. You have to access it via Engine Management - UCI where it is set under Common Hash Size. So as long as that option is checked, no hash clearing will happen when people just change some other parameter.

Which Arena do you have? They seem to have moved a few things like Hash and Threads to the Engine Management - UCI menu, although you can turn them off there and make them reappear in the Engine Configure dialog.
Mark, I am using Arena 3.5, but not using the common hash size setting. Maybe that is the problem for me.

I'm a bit busy, but will report back with more details when I get a chance to try using that option. However, it would then force all engine instances to use the same hash size, and I prefer to have multiple instances with various different engine options. Also, I had some bad experiences with the common hash option under Arena 3.0, when it would sometimes actually ignore it and go to the engine default. Since then I have been in the habit of not using common hash size setting.

Maybe a "never clear hash" is possible in the future, to guarantee the situation in all cases?

Thanks for the speedy reply, and congrats on another great version of Komodo.
Use one of the Fritz versions...everything else sucks and is a waste of time.
i7 5960X @ 4.1 Ghz, 64 GB G.Skill RipJaws RAM, Twin Asus ROG Strix OC 11 GB Geforce 2080 Tis

APassionForCriminalJustic
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 7:16 am

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by APassionForCriminalJustic » Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:03 am

shrapnel wrote:
RJN wrote:
mjlef wrote:Rob, we can look at this. I checked and Komodo does not clear the Hash when it gets a ucinewgame command. I think some earlier AArena version resend the Hash size to the engine everytime you close the engine settings dialog. And resizing the Hash (even the same size) does clear the Hash Table. But I think it is fixed in 3.5.

You can try using Arena 3.5. Hash is no longer in then Config screen by default. You have to access it via Engine Management - UCI where it is set under Common Hash Size. So as long as that option is checked, no hash clearing will happen when people just change some other parameter.

Which Arena do you have? They seem to have moved a few things like Hash and Threads to the Engine Management - UCI menu, although you can turn them off there and make them reappear in the Engine Configure dialog.
Mark, I am using Arena 3.5, but not using the common hash size setting. Maybe that is the problem for me.

I'm a bit busy, but will report back with more details when I get a chance to try using that option. However, it would then force all engine instances to use the same hash size, and I prefer to have multiple instances with various different engine options. Also, I had some bad experiences with the common hash option under Arena 3.0, when it would sometimes actually ignore it and go to the engine default. Since then I have been in the habit of not using common hash size setting.

Maybe a "never clear hash" is possible in the future, to guarantee the situation in all cases?

Thanks for the speedy reply, and congrats on another great version of Komodo.
Use one of the Fritz versions...everything else sucks and is a waste of time.
Winboard 8b is also excellent. Arena is horrendous I agree.

JJJ
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:47 am

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by JJJ » Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:04 am

I love arena :(

CositasBuenas
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:36 pm

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by CositasBuenas » Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:26 am

You could try scid (or svid vs pc).

Dann Corbit
Posts: 11621
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by Dann Corbit » Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:13 am

Got mine.
Looks good.
Keep up the good work.

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 24893
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by hgm » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:12 am

mjlef wrote:And resizing the Hash (even the same size) does clear the Hash Table.
Why do you do that? Although the UCI specs are not explicit about this, I think it is a mistake to clear when not necessary (i.e. when the size stays the same). A GUI that resends the hash size for every new game would be a perfectly valid UCI implementation. You should not use the Hash option as a kludge to clear the hash table; if this is a desired function a button option Clear Hash can be added. None of my engines touches the hash when they are asked to keep it at the same size.

rcmaddox
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:59 pm
Location: Winder, GA
Full name: Robert C. Maddox

Re: Komodo 9 Announcement

Post by rcmaddox » Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:25 pm

I think the Komodo website might be losing a few sales by showing the K9 plus subscription price first ---->> http://komodochess.com/Komodo9-43a.htm

A prospective buyer might see the $99.97 and simply leave. Just a thought.

Post Reply