SF6 has been released

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, bob, hgm

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by styx » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:59 pm

petero2 wrote:
meschle wrote:
petero2 wrote:
stavros wrote:
zamar wrote:Thanks to Daylen, official binaries are now available for download in:
http://stockfishchess.org/download/

We expect these to be somewhat faster than the ones abrok.eu is providing. However there should be no need to restart test runs or anything like that if you already have used abrok.eu compiles.
hi. the official android version(sf 6 JA) is based on arm5 compile from JA so its slower than arm7 compile,any date for arm7 compile?
You can try this version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/896 ... ish-arm.gz. I don't know it if will become the official version. On my HTC One it is about 20% faster than the JA version.
Thanks Peter just what I was looking for, faster than the ja version.
The official android download has been updated now, so no need to use my link anymore.
do you have any idea why your android-compiled SF6 is about 10% slower than the dev-version of SF that comes with the latest droidfish app? at least on my phone

User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:24 am
Location: Andorra
Contact:

Re: Bug in SF6?

Post by cdani » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:02 pm

Hi. This seems a bug on stockfish 6:

Code: Select all

Stockfish 6 64 POPCNT by Tord Romstad, Marco Costalba and Joona Kiiski
position fen r1q1nr1k/pp1b2b1/n2p2pp/2pP1p2/2B4B/3Q1N1P/PPP1NPP1/1R3RK1 b - - 0
12
go depth 15
info depth 1 seldepth 1 multipv 1 score cp -33 nodes 31 nps 31000 tbhits 0 time
1 pv g6g5
info depth 2 seldepth 2 multipv 1 score cp 609 nodes 116 nps 116000 tbhits 0 tim
e 1 pv a6b4 c2c3 b4d3
info depth 3 seldepth 3 multipv 1 score cp 609 nodes 169 nps 169000 tbhits 0 tim
e 1 pv a6b4 c2c3 b4d3
info depth 4 seldepth 4 multipv 1 score cp 601 nodes 258 nps 258000 tbhits 0 tim
e 1 pv a6b4 e2f4 b4d3 c4d3
info depth 5 seldepth 5 multipv 1 score cp 523 nodes 545 nps 545000 tbhits 0 tim
e 1 pv a6b4 e2f4 b4d3 c4d3 g6g5 f4g6 h8g8 g6f8
info depth 6 seldepth 8 multipv 1 score cp 324 nodes 878 nps 878000 tbhits 0 tim
e 1 pv a6b4 e2f4 b4d3 f4g6 h8h7 g6f8 g7f8 c4d3
info depth 7 seldepth 9 multipv 1 score cp 338 nodes 1153 nps 104818 tbhits 0 ti
me 11 pv a6b4 e2f4 b4d3 f4g6 h8h7 g6f8 g7f8 c4d3 c5c4
info depth 8 seldepth 10 multipv 1 score cp 101 nodes 7725 nps 367857 tbhits 0 t
ime 21 pv g6g5 c4a6 b7a6 f3g5 h6g5 h4g5 e8f6 e2f4
info depth 9 seldepth 12 multipv 1 score cp 76 nodes 12335 nps 587380 tbhits 0 t
ime 21 pv a6b4 d3d2 g6g5 h4g5 h6g5 d2g5 b7b5 c2c3 e8f6
info depth 10 seldepth 15 multipv 1 score cp 56 nodes 25000 nps 609756 tbhits 0
time 41 pv a6b4 d3d2 g6g5 a2a3 b7b5 a3b4 b5c4 b4c5 c8c5 h4g5 h6g5 d2g5 c5d5
info depth 11 seldepth 16 multipv 1 score cp 47 nodes 67287 nps 1103065 tbhits 0
 time 61 pv g6g5 h4g5 a6b4 d3d2 h6g5 f3g5 b7b5 a2a3 b5c4 a3b4 c5b4 e2f4 f8f6 d2b
4
info depth 12 seldepth 18 multipv 1 score cp 64 nodes 103100 nps 1132967 tbhits
0 time 91 pv g6g5 h4g5 a6b4 d3d2 h6g5 d2g5 h8g8 e2f4 b7b5 c2c3 b5c4 c3b4 f8f7 b4
c5
info depth 13 seldepth 19 multipv 1 score cp 73 nodes 148466 nps 1226991 tbhits
0 time 121 pv g6g5 h4g5 a6b4 d3d2 h6g5 f3g5 b7b5 a2a3 b5c4 a3b4 c5b4 e2f4 f8f6 d
2b4 a8b8
info depth 14 seldepth 22 multipv 1 score cp 36 nodes 336177 nps 1394925 tbhits
0 time 241 pv g6g5 f3g5 h6g5 h4g5 e8f6 e2f4 h8g8 f4e6 f6e4 e6f8 g8f8 c4a6 e4g5 a
6c4 g5e4 c2c3 f8g8
info depth 15 seldepth 22 multipv 1 score cp 5 nodes 831105 nps 1455525 tbhits 0
 time 571 pv g6g5 h4g5 a6b4 d3d2 h6g5 f3g5 e8f6 a2a3 b7b5 e2f4 h8g8 c4b3 b4a6 f4
g6 c8e8 g6f8 e8f8
bestmove g6g5 ponder h4g5
So it drops the queen in the firsts depths.

gladius
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:10 am
Full name: Gary Linscott

Re: Bug in SF6?

Post by gladius » Fri Jan 30, 2015 1:34 am

cdani wrote:Hi. This seems a bug on stockfish 6:

<snip>

So it drops the queen in the firsts depths.
It's not a bug unfortunately. Just before SF 6 a patch was introduced to do futility pruning in the PV. It only happens at low depths, but, yeah, it can lead to silly looking things like this.

On the plus side, this should be some incentive to improve the futility pruning rules.

drowsy
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 4:34 am

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by drowsy » Fri Jan 30, 2015 1:58 am

In the linux package there are 3 binaries, x64, x64_bmi2, and x64_modern. Could you please update the readme file to explain what they are?

Thanks!

PS I found the info via google, but it should be in the readme file with the distribution, imho.

User avatar
Sylwy
Posts: 3446
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: IASI (Romania) - the historical capital of MOLDOVA

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by Sylwy » Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:29 am

drowsy wrote:In the linux package there are 3 binaries, x64, x64_bmi2, and x64_modern. Could you please update the readme file to explain what they are?

Thanks!

PS I found the info via google, but it should be in the readme file with the distribution, imho.
for old CPUs
for Haswell architecture CPUs
for modern CPUs (supporting sse 4.2 & popcnt instruction sets)

SilvianR :wink:

User avatar
Dr.Wael Deeb
Posts: 9772
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Amman,Jordan

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by Dr.Wael Deeb » Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:32 am

SzG wrote:
drowsy wrote:In the linux package there are 3 binaries, x64, x64_bmi2, and x64_modern. Could you please update the readme file to explain what they are?

Thanks!

PS I found the info via google, but it should be in the readme file with the distribution, imho.
When I find several executables in a package I try them all and use the one that does not crash and is the fastest. Am I primitive?
My mouth is sealed :oops:


:wink:
_No one can hit as hard as life.But it ain’t about how hard you can hit.It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.How much you can take and keep moving forward….

petero2
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by petero2 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:39 am

styx wrote:
petero2 wrote:
meschle wrote:
petero2 wrote:
stavros wrote: hi. the official android version(sf 6 JA) is based on arm5 compile from JA so its slower than arm7 compile,any date for arm7 compile?
You can try this version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/896 ... ish-arm.gz. I don't know it if will become the official version. On my HTC One it is about 20% faster than the JA version.
Thanks Peter just what I was looking for, faster than the ja version.
The official android download has been updated now, so no need to use my link anymore.
do you have any idea why your android-compiled SF6 is about 10% slower than the dev-version of SF that comes with the latest droidfish app? at least on my phone
When compiling using the android ndk-build script instead of using the stockfish Makefile, a lot of compiler flags are different, which in this case makes the binary about 35% smaller and 7% faster. I have not been able to modify the Makefile to produce the same binary, but here is the binary extracted from the DroidFish build:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/89684995/sf6-arm.gz

User avatar
Leto
Posts: 2052
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Dune

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by Leto » Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:19 pm

The official binary seems to be between 10 to 14 percent faster than the abrok compile.

matthewlai
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:48 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by matthewlai » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:22 pm

Uri Blass wrote:
deefree49 wrote:Congratulations! I think it is an important achievement. I believe in the idea of cooperation for the sake of advancing science without concern for monetary gain. It is, IMHO a high expression of the best of what we aspire to.

Thank you so much for your hard work! I love chess and computer chess holds an unending fascination for me. So you have made this old guy happier today. :D

I wish continued success for the whole Stockfish team. Also, kudos to all the testers who freely contributed their time and resources to the project.

Very nice!
I do not think that the target of the stockfish team is to advance science(otherwise instead of only trying to improve stockfish they can do tests to find out what are the main factors that help stockfish to be strong).

It can be done simply by removing every piece of code that does not give a significant elo gain and see what we get.

It is possible simply to test every code that we want to remove
with SPRT(-6,0) at 1 minute per game and remove it if it pass the test.

I guess that the final result is going to be weaker than stockfish6 but still better than stockfish5 and we may know better what are the main factors
that help stockfish to be a strong engine.
Stockfish is definitely contributing to science by being open source.

For example, I am doing some research using experimental approaches to play chess, and need a stable, well optimized, and clean chess engine as a starting point. Stockfish fits the bill perfectly.
Disclosure: I work for DeepMind on the AlphaZero project, but everything I say here is personal opinion and does not reflect the views of DeepMind / Alphabet.

lech
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:02 pm

Re: SF6 has been released

Post by lech » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:09 pm

I was looking through the search of Stockfish and I see that Stockfish fights with "R" value in "null move search" like .... Tinapa ?
It is a good idea! :D
Who was the author?
Maybe, I can't be friendly, but let me be useful.

Post Reply