Page 10 of 14

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:18 pm
by Matthias Gemuh
Modern Times wrote:Hi Matthias,

What is the relationship between the new chess960 castling options vs the ones that appeared in older GUIs:

Previously:
castling_HAha
castling_OO
castling_e1g1

now
AHah_KxR
KQkq_OO
AHah_OO
KQkq_KxR


I don't know how to set frc engines up under the new GUI. However my old 0.229 setups still work fine.
Hi Ray,

try AHah = UCI Engine, KQkq = WB Engine, KxR = SMK castling, OO = O-O castling.

Best,
Matthias.

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:13 pm
by Krzysztof Grzelak
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Hi Krzysztof,

try dumping all your Syzygy files into one folder for all engines.
Things should get better when I resume chess programming later this year or early next year.

Cheers,
Matthias.
Thank you Matthias. Please write as set in the following times game - 5 seconds per move and 5 minutes + 3 seconds for each move.


From respect
Krzysztof

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:54 pm
by hgm
Note that WB engines are supposed to understand HAha castling in FRC, and that there is no guarantee they will understand KQkq. At least, the latter is not what WinBoard would send them... (The specs urge them to understand both X-FEN and Shredder FEN, but people are often lazy, and won't care about protocol violations they can get away with.)

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:11 pm
by Modern Times
Matthias Gemuh wrote: Hi Ray,

try AHah = UCI Engine, KQkq = WB Engine, KxR = SMK castling, OO = O-O castling.

Best,
Matthias.
Perfect, thanks ! All combinations covered :)

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:50 pm
by Matthias Gemuh
Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Hi Krzysztof,

try dumping all your Syzygy files into one folder for all engines.
Things should get better when I resume chess programming later this year or early next year.

Cheers,
Matthias.
Thank you Matthias. Please write as set in the following times game - 5 seconds per move and 5 minutes + 3 seconds for each move.


From respect
Krzysztof
a) Try "Analysis Time" = 0, 0, 5

b) Try "Time per Game" = 0, 5, 0, 3000

Best,
Matthias.

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:56 pm
by Matthias Gemuh
hgm wrote:Note that WB engines are supposed to understand HAha castling in FRC, and that there is no guarantee they will understand KQkq. At least, the latter is not what WinBoard would send them... (The specs urge them to understand both X-FEN and Shredder FEN, but people are often lazy, and won't care about protocol violations they can get away with.)
HGM, I shall try to understand such stuff only when I return to chess. :wink:

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:14 am
by Krzysztof Grzelak
Matthias Gemuh wrote: a) Try "Analysis Time" = 0, 0, 5

b) Try "Time per Game" = 0, 5, 0, 3000

Best,
Matthias.
Thank you Matthias.

From respect
Krzysztof

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:49 am
by Krzysztof Grzelak
What do the program during its movement did not show strange characters, and that the program was showing correctly TBs if engines do not use the TBs.

Image

I have a question yet. Please write how you can best change the versions of the engine during the tournament. Let me give an example, I have the engine in version 2.0 and would like to change it to a newer version of the engine which the author released. Is it possible.

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:14 am
by Graham Banks
Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:What do the program during its movement did not show strange characters, and that the program was showing correctly TBs if engines do not use the TBs.

Image

I have a question yet. Please write how you can best change the versions of the engine during the tournament. Let me give an example, I have the engine in version 2.0 and would like to change it to a newer version of the engine which the author released. Is it possible.
You can change an engine during a round robin or gauntlet, but not during a swiss.

Install your engine.
Close ChessGUI.
When you go back in, load your tournament.
In Tab 2 there is an option Add/Remove engines.
Click on it.
Remove the engine from the right by clicking on it and then the arrow pointing left.
Put in the new engine from the left by clicking on it and then the arrow moving it right.
Then resume tournament.

Re: ChessGUI 0.245f is available

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:42 pm
by Krzysztof Grzelak
Graham Banks wrote:You can change an engine during a round robin or gauntlet, but not during a swiss.

Install your engine.
Close ChessGUI.
When you go back in, load your tournament.
In Tab 2 there is an option Add/Remove engines.
Click on it.
Remove the engine from the right by clicking on it and then the arrow pointing left.
Put in the new engine from the left by clicking on it and then the arrow moving it right.
Then resume tournament.
Thank you very much Graham. Please write as you know what is the difference in the program between WB1 and WB2. I ask because I installed in the engine Santana 2.0.6 and Sjakk 2.2 somehow these engines would not work in the program. Maybe I did something wrong in the program.