UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Sat Sep 21, 2013 8:17 am

Hello together,

why is UCI 2-protocol for chess engines rather the exception than the rule?

see http://rybkaforum.net/cgi-bin/rybkaforu ... ?tid=19060

A GUI like Arena http://www.playwitharena.com has only one interface for
UCI-engines, but the output shows "UCI" respectively "UCI 2".

Best wishes,

Norbert

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 23295
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Post by hgm » Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:06 am

Almost every engine uses UCI2, as far as I understand UCI1 is so obsolete you cannot even find specs of it on the web anymore.

You realize that you are referring to a post here from an idiot that had not the slightest idea what he/she was talking about?

User avatar
rvida
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:00 am
Location: Slovakia, EU

Re: UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Post by rvida » Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:16 am

Officially there is no such thing as UCI2. The Arena GUI identifies an engine as UCI2 if it offers certain options (UCI_AnalyseMode and/or UCI_LimitStrength + UCI_Elo).

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Post by reflectionofpower » Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:46 pm

If it's not UCI I don't even bother with it.

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 23295
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Post by hgm » Sat Sep 21, 2013 1:39 pm

Funny. I usually don't bother with it if it is UCI. :lol:

I just converted Bonanza to WB protocol, so I could easily use it...

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: UCI 2- protocol for more chess engines

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:58 pm

hgm wrote:Almost every engine uses UCI2, as far as I understand UCI1 is so obsolete you cannot even find specs of it on the web anymore.

...
correct !


Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

Post Reply