Page 1 of 2

cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:25 pm
by Daniel Shawul
I am trying to run cutechess-cli on a linux 64 bit machine but it looks like it needs additional files (libQtCore.so.4) . I don't have Qt and can not install anything on that machine so i need other options. Isn't Qt library needed only for GUI applications ? Is there a way to download that specific so and put it on the same directory (without install) so that cutechess-cli can work ?

Thanks
Daniel

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:01 pm
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Qt is much more than just a GUI framework, and cutechess uses it for everything.

However, I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to install it in your homedir and link to it there.

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:07 pm
by Daniel Shawul
Whenevery i try to use sudo i get reported to admin for transgression so no way to install it there. And the whole Qt library is 440mb or so.
But fortunately just putting the libQtCore.so.4 in the /lib directory of cutechess-cli worked ! I am setting up engines now. Hope everything goes well.

Thanks

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:15 pm
by ilari
It should work if you just copy the QtCore library to the cutechess-cli/lib/ folder and use the cutechess-cli.sh script to run the program. I have uploaded the 64-bit version of the library here: http://koti.mbnet.fi/~ilaripih/bin/libQtCore.tar.gz
So just extract its contents to your cutechess-cli/lib/ folder.

To most Linux users (those with root access) the best option is of course to install Qt via the distribution's package management system. In some distros (KDE ones) it's already installed by default.

EDIT: Well, it seems you already solved the problem.

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:28 pm
by Daniel Shawul
Hi Illari
I still have a few problems though.
I put sorpio same directory as the cutechess script. I am getting segmentation fault.

Code: Select all

$ ./cutechess-cli.sh -fcp cmd=scorpio -scp cmd=scorpio -both tc=40/5
Started game 1 of 1
Warning: Cannot start engine "scorpio"
Warning: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::debugMessage(const QString&) to GameManager::debugMessage(const QString&)
Warning: Cannot start engine "scorpio"
Warning: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::debugMessage(const QString&) to GameManager::debugMessage(const QString&)
./cutechess-cli.sh: line 13: 26119 Segmentation fault      $dirname/$appname "$@"

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:42 pm
by ilari
Daniel Shawul wrote:Hi Illari
I still have a few problems though.
I put sorpio same directory as the cutechess script. I am getting segmentation fault.

Code: Select all

$ ./cutechess-cli.sh -fcp cmd=scorpio -scp cmd=scorpio -both tc=40/5
Started game 1 of 1
Warning: Cannot start engine "scorpio"
Warning: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::debugMessage(const QString&) to GameManager::debugMessage(const QString&)
Warning: Cannot start engine "scorpio"
Warning: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::debugMessage(const QString&) to GameManager::debugMessage(const QString&)
./cutechess-cli.sh: line 13: 26119 Segmentation fault      $dirname/$appname "$@"
:oops: I can't believe that bug is still there, I thought I had fixed it. Anyway, this problem should be fixed if you replace "cmd=scorpio" with "cmd=./scorpio".

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:07 am
by Daniel Shawul
Still no change.

Code: Select all

$ ./cutechess-cli.sh -fcp cmd=./scorpio -scp cmd=./scorpio -both tc=40/5
Started game 1 of 1
Warning: Cannot start engine "./scorpio"
Warning: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::debugMessage(const QString&) to GameManager::debugMessage(const QString&)
Warning: Cannot start engine "./scorpio"
Warning: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::debugMessage(const QString&) to GameManager::debugMessage(const QString&)
./cutechess-cli.sh: line 13: 27516 Segmentation fault      $dirname/$appname "$@"

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:27 am
by Daniel Shawul
I should add that the same command works ok on windows ( It is version 0.2.1). So i guess the problem is specific to the linux 64 version.

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:24 am
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Try adding dir=

Re: cutechess and libQtCore.so.4

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:25 am
by Gian-Carlo Pascutto
Daniel Shawul wrote:Whenevery i try to use sudo i get reported to admin for transgression so no way to install it there.
Don't use sudo :)

Most Linux software has the option to add a --prefix= when you run "configure", and you can point that at your homedir.

Qt probably has a slightly different make system, but I'm sure it supports something similar.