ChessGUI 0.144 is out

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:39 pm

Graham Banks wrote:Is this problem an Amundsen one that can't be fixed by a ChessGUI alteration?
ChessGUI has no clue what move Amundsen finally wanted to play, though the engine was contemplating moving the rook from f7 to a7.

The bug is too heavy for GUI to "fix".

regards,
Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33006
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:45 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:Is this problem an Amundsen one that can't be fixed by a ChessGUI alteration?
ChessGUI has no clue what move Amundsen finally wanted to play, though the engine was contemplating moving the rook from f7 to a7.

The bug is too heavy for GUI to "fix".

regards,
Matthias.
Thanks Matthias. I'll let Amundsen play a few more games just in case this is a rare bug or isolated incident.
Glass 1.1 and Mediocre 0.34 seem to be working okay for me. 8-)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Matthias Gemuh
Posts: 3238
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Matthias Gemuh » Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:04 pm

Graham Banks wrote: Glass 1.1 and Mediocre 0.34 seem to be working okay for me. 8-)
Watch memory useage of Mediocre 0.34 for 5 consecutive moves.
I don't tolerate what I saw.

You can handle Hash of Glass 1.1 wisely under ChessGUI to compensate for the extra memory it uses for pawn hash and eval hash.
The option is "Reduce Mem" in engine installation window. Works only for UCI engines, of course.

Matthias.
My engine was quite strong till I added knowledge to it.
http://www.chess.hylogic.de

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33006
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:19 pm

Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote: Glass 1.1 and Mediocre 0.34 seem to be working okay for me. 8-)
Watch memory useage of Mediocre 0.34 for 5 consecutive moves.
I don't tolerate what I saw.

You can handle Hash of Glass 1.1 wisely under ChessGUI to compensate for the extra memory it uses for pawn hash and eval hash.
The option is "Reduce Mem" in engine installation window. Works only for UCI engines, of course.

Matthias.
Thanks for the hint. :)
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

User avatar
Graham Banks
Posts: 33006
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: ChessGUI 0.148 is out

Post by Graham Banks » Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:45 pm

Graham Banks wrote:
Matthias Gemuh wrote:
Graham Banks wrote:Is this problem an Amundsen one that can't be fixed by a ChessGUI alteration?
ChessGUI has no clue what move Amundsen finally wanted to play, though the engine was contemplating moving the rook from f7 to a7.

The bug is too heavy for GUI to "fix".

regards,
Matthias.
Thanks Matthias. I'll let Amundsen play a few more games just in case this is a rare bug or isolated incident.
Glass 1.1 and Mediocre 0.34 seem to be working okay for me. 8-)
I had to remove Amundsen because it also lost its next game in the same manner. :cry:
My email addresses:
gbanksnz at gmail.com
gbanksnz at yahoo.co.nz

Post Reply