Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
GS

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by GS » Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:14 pm

Thomas Lagershausen wrote:Hi Chris,

can you tell my why Pro Deo on my pc didn´t see the right move?

Pro Deo 1.5 (192 MB hash Arena-GUI 1.99b3):
1 00:00 4 4.000 +1,05 gh5:
2 00:00 874 874.000 +0,46 gh5: Kh6 f4 Kh5:
3 00:00 2.515 2.515.000 +0,46 gh5: Kh6 f4 Kh5:
4 00:00 6.356 6.356.000 +0,66 gh5: Kh6 f4 Kh5: Kd4
5 00:00 14.698 14.698.000 +0,53 gh5: Kh6 Dc4 Lb7 f4 Kh5:
5 00:00 20.338 20.338.000 +0,55 De1 Tde8 gh5: Lf5
6 00:00 39.520 39.520.000 +0,56 De1 Tg8 Dh4 Te5 gh5: Teg5 h6
6 00:00 61.039 61.039.000 +0,56 gh5:
6 00:00 69.911 69.911.000 +0,67 gh5: Kh6 Db2 Tf8 Dc2 Lb7 Dh2
7 00:00 146.463 146.463.000 +0,50 gh5: Kh6 Da5 Lb7 Dc3 Kh5: f4
7 00:00 146.515 146.515.000 +0,56 De1 Tg8 Dh4 Te5 gh5: Teg5 h6
8 00:00 272.096 272.096.000 +0,78 De1 Tf7 Dh4 Tdf8 Dh5:+ Kg7 Dg5+ Kh7 Dh4+ Kg6
8 00:00 540.253 540.253.000 +0,87 gh5: Lb7 Db2 Tf8 Dh2 Tf6 Kd4 Tef7 Dg3
9 00:00 1.191.513 1.191.513.000 +0,85 gh5: Lb7 Db2 Te5 f4 Th5: Df6 Td7 De6 Lc8
10 00:01 3.484.757 3.484.757 +0,89 gh5: Kh6 Db2 Tf8 Kd4 Tef7 Dc1+ Kh5: Dc6 La6 Dd6: Tf3:
11 00:03 8.676.178 2.892.059 +0,91 gh5: Kh6 Db2 Tf7 f4 Lg4 e5 Tb7 e6 Kh5: Df6 Tg8
12 00:15 40.728.654 2.715.243 +1,10 gh5: Lb7 Db2 Tf8 Da3 Tf6 Da7 Tef7 Kd2 Tf3: e5 de5:
13 00:52 140.325.421 2.698.565 +1,07 gh5: Kh6 Db2
14 03:19 533.961.896 2.683.225 +1,23 gh5: Lb7 Kd3
16 59:01 1.094.864.725 309.196 +1,33 gh5: Kh6 Dd4 Tf7 Db4

I didn´t see any tb-access under the arena-gui for ProDeo.

Regards
That's normal, ProDeo doesn't use tablebases neither does Arena ;-)

Guenther

jdart
Posts: 3816
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by jdart » Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:48 pm

It looks like a number of engines can select the move, but few are both finding it and returning a winning score.

User avatar
Thomas Lagershausen
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:59 pm

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by Thomas Lagershausen » Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:44 pm

Thx Günther,

did that mean, that ProDeo can find the right move only under his own gui?

Or is the trick to use a cb-gui for ProDeo?

Regards
TL

GS

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by GS » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:50 pm

Thomas Lagershausen wrote:Thx Günther,

did that mean, that ProDeo can find the right move only under his own gui?

Or is the trick to use a cb-gui for ProDeo?

Regards
This means that ProDeo probably never will find that move(in case
the position requires a TB search by the program), because a GUI
will only play TB positions _on board_ for the programs.
(Moreover ProDeo is not very famous for its endgame abilities at all)

Regards,
Guenther

User avatar
George Tsavdaris
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by George Tsavdaris » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:59 pm

Thomas Lagershausen wrote:Thx Günther,

did that mean, that ProDeo can find the right move only under his own gui?

Or is the trick to use a cb-gui for ProDeo?
What is Pro Deo's own GUI?

Anyway my Pro Deo 1.5 does also NOT find it in Chessbase and in Chesspartner GUI....
After his son's birth they've asked him:
"Is it a boy or girl?"
YES! He replied.....

GS

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by GS » Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:13 pm

George Tsavdaris wrote:
Thomas Lagershausen wrote:Thx Günther,

did that mean, that ProDeo can find the right move only under his own gui?

Or is the trick to use a cb-gui for ProDeo?
What is Pro Deo's own GUI?
LokaSoft/Chesspartner GUI with which it was sold before it became freeware.

Guenther

User avatar
George Tsavdaris
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by George Tsavdaris » Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:23 pm

GS wrote:
George Tsavdaris wrote:
Thomas Lagershausen wrote:Thx Günther,

did that mean, that ProDeo can find the right move only under his own gui?

Or is the trick to use a cb-gui for ProDeo?
What is Pro Deo's own GUI?
LokaSoft/Chesspartner GUI with which it was sold before it became freeware.
Oh, but did really Pro-Deo was sold for some time by Lokasoft? :? I don't remember....
After his son's birth they've asked him:
"Is it a boy or girl?"
YES! He replied.....

User avatar
Thomas Lagershausen
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:59 pm

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by Thomas Lagershausen » Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:14 pm

Yes, it was sold under the name Rebel 12.

But now i am a little bit confussed about the best gui for ProDeo.

Should we use the REBEL-DOS gui to get the full strength of Ed Schröders child? I want to see this Qe1 by ProDeo, too.

Regards
TL

User avatar
George Tsavdaris
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by George Tsavdaris » Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:45 pm

Thomas Lagershausen wrote:Yes, it was sold under the name Rebel 12.
Yes i'm aware of that, but Guenther said Pro Deo was sold with Lokasoft GUI.
Anyway i guess a rename(Rebel12 UCI->Pro Deo) is pointless to talk about whether ProDeo was sold by Lokasoft.... :D

But now i am a little bit confussed about the best gui for ProDeo.

Should we use the REBEL-DOS gui to get the full strength of Ed Schröders child? I want to see this Qe1 by ProDeo, too.
Yes i want to see this move by Pro Deo too, but for the moment i can't. Arena,Chesspartner,Chessbase give no Qe1 for me.....
Perhaps Chris used some non-default settings. What can i say?
After his son's birth they've asked him:
"Is it a boy or girl?"
YES! He replied.....

bob
Posts: 20473
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:30 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Re: Which engines find the winning Qe1! ?

Post by bob » Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:32 am

jdart wrote:It looks like a number of engines can select the move, but few are both finding it and returning a winning score.
There is always a luck factor where engines will find the right move for the wrong reason. It doesn't mean a thing in such a case either, other than that the program had a bit of luck on its side, which they all will from time to time.

Post Reply